We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
64
13
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
13
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner other guests a great place to stay central location enjoyed our stay nicaragua electricity privacy
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Owners John and Ledys make your stay relaxed and comfortable. John makes breakfast with healthy ingredients and great juices. He also provides the most accurate directions! The location is close to everything, on a quiet street. Inside art and flora abound. This was my second stay at El Nancite and I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jackietrehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We got off the microbes after a long journey and we stepped right into heaven. John and Ledte's hotel is a blast of color of the earth and of the sun. The rooms are comfortable with excellent beds. Homemade breakfast by John each morning. Finally, great coffee. Original paintings by Ledte adorn the walls. Really great and generous people. It was really hard to leave this place to travel onwards. Someone mentioned something about non-English speaking. Maybe it as after hours. John hails from Brooklyn!

Room tip: We got an upstairs suite with a balcony. Bottom rooms are darker because of the intense sun in Leon.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gshanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We had the owner, John, arrange for a taxi for us from San Juan del Sur to Leon as we wanted to get in earlier than the shuttle would get us there. The taxi driver was arrived early & was really nice although the condition of his vehicle was very poor. The seats had no proper backing to them & there was no A/C which made for a quite uncomfortable 3.5 hour drive - we didn't complain as the driver came all the way from Leon to get us which we appreciated but we could have arranged the taxi ourselves for the same price and had a much more comfortable ride. (I am just mentioning this as when we talked to him about arranging a ride to the airport he said he uses the same guy & that he is very reliable (which he was) but we declined & found our own transportation for the same price (and in a much more comfortable vehicle).
We had a room on the top floor which was very large, the bed was okay but the pillows were very flat and not comfortable. The room was clean - they did not do any housekeeping to our room during our stay (2 nights) other then empty our garbage.
The Wifi worked from our room- the only frustrating thing about this was that they did not keep the wifi on so we would have to keep going downstairs & turning it back on when we returned from being out.
It would have been nice if breakfast was included- I understand they offer it at a minimal cost but everywhere else we stayed on our trip included it so it was a bit disappointing that they didn't include here as well.
Overall it was a good stay, room was adequate, location was good- never felt unsafe at night when coming back from restaurants.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AshleyDawn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Guesthouse El Nancite, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hello Ashley, Thanks for your positive review, overall. Sorry for the ride, I spoke to the driver after your trip and told him to take his better car the next time, and use the AC. I thought you weren't interested in breakfast, as you never came back to the kitchen to talk to us ever. Did you come through Booking.com? If so, it is clearly stated that breakfast is included. Breakfast is usually included, unless you paid less than 45 per night. Sorry for that mix up. I did run after you one morning as you were leaving, inquiring about your breakfast. And if guests are out all day, we do turn off the wifi...anything we all can do to save even the smallest amount of energy is much needed in today's world, as you know. We invite everyone to simply turn it on anytime they come back and find it off. And maybe we should get some new pillows. We usually make your bed, but maybe when we serviced the room, it was too full of your things, in which case, we don't disturb them. Thanks again for your observations, and we'll certainly try to improve for the next time. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Incredible, beautiful setting and an excellent central location, make this the perfect property for your stay in Leon. The guest house is spectacular, from lovely appointed rooms, to indoor / outdoor gardens with lush foliage. There's relaxing sitting area's perfect for planning the next days adventure. The gracious owner John, provided the most delicious breakfast, with the freshest fruits and that wonderful Nicaraguan coffee we wanted to take home. Walk to the Leon Cathedral, only about 10 minutes away. Truly a gem of a property. 1st floor adjoining rooms, had AC and 2 private baths and wifi in the lobby. If it's November or December when you visit, hopefully a Gigantona procession will pass by the property, adding to the richness of your Nicaraguan experience. Highly recommend the El Nancite Guesthouse.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotelito in the heart of Leon. Natural setting with clean and spacious rooms. Convenient to everything. Amazing culture and lovely people. Friendly and gracious hosts. Highly recommend staying here while you enjoy the city of Leon.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews