We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Fuente Castalia
Ranked #4 of 37 Leon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2012

goods:
- very very clean
- staff and owner welcoming and helpful
- nice building

bads:
- too many and too small rooms
- rooms are all facing the small internal court, so it may be noisy
- town center is not far but not close
- owner lives here (it's her house) and this may be an advantage but also bothering you

Price was 40 dollars (no aircon, with aircon is 50), no hot water, good beds and pillows, some air condition fan are noisy and are close to the windows of the rooms, breakfast is included, credit card accepted with additional fee, upper floor very very hot, not much light in the rooms, no mosquito nets (but there are no mosquitoes or very few in Leon).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

I have been fortunate to stay at the Posada twice now, and each time my experience has been unforgettable. I have traveled quite a bit, and can honestly say that the Posada is the absolute best place I have stayed. María Teresa and all members of her family are exceptional hosts, and make one feel as though they are a part of the family. It is an extremely safe, clean, and relaxing place to stay in León. A true hidden jewel. I would not consider staying in any other place while visiting León, and I hope to return to the warmth of the Posada soon. It is a beautiful and comfortable location. María Teresa is one of the most caring, helpful, and nurturing people that I have ever met. My most recent trip to Nicaragua was absolutely perfect due to my stay at la Posada Fuente Castalia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Owner is a doll helping us with any questions we had and making us feel at home. Spacious 170 yr old preserved hacienda centered by lush tropical courtyard. Peaceful indoor /outdoor living, fountain, hammocks, rocking chairs, and welcoming decor spread throughout. Breakfast is excellent with strong coffee. All just 4 blocks from the largest most fascinating cathedral in Central America. Owner made us feel like family and if you want cleaner than clean this is it.

Charlene Brown

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelpVacation911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I had such a WONDERFUL and memorable experience at this charming hotel! Posada Fuente Castalia is like home away from home. It is centrally located yet in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Our hostess Maria Theresa and her husband Pedro treated us like family during our 3 day stay in Leon. The room charge includes an amazing breakfast consisting of hot coffee, bread basket, fruit plate and traditional Nicaraguan plate with rice, beans, eggs with tomatoes and herbs. Wow!!!! Our room is very clean, beautifully decorated, our bathroom spotless. This is such a great value for $35/night!!!! Our host Pedro picked us up from the airport, took us to Poneloya Beach, and to Granada for reasonable rates as well. They have laundry service that cost a few cents literally. They recommended a travel guide who took us to Cerro Negro, which worked out beautifully. Also, if one is interested, they could arrange for dance lessons or even Spanish language lessons right in the hotel! But what stood out the most was their warmth and hospitality that I have not found in any Hilton or Holiday Inn hotel anywhere in my travels. We were sad to leave this beautiful place, but know that will definitely be back in Leon and will choose this place over any hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaFilipina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Posada Fuente Castalia has everything that a traveler is looking for in a B&B - clean, quiet and comfortable rooms plus excellent breakfasts. The posada is beautifully decorated, yet warm and cozy. Hosts Maria Teresa and Pedro go out of their way to cater to the needs of their guests. I highly recommend Posada Fuente Castalia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Posada Fuente Castalia is a lovely bed and breakfast run by a warm, friendly family. Maria Teresa treated us like family during our nine-day stay in Leon during Semana Santa. The posada is in a safe, central area of the city. Everything is within walking distance. The rooms are spotlessly clean with spotlessly clean towels and bed linens. The bedrooms have A/C and televisions. The showers don't have hot water but you don't need hot water to have a shower in Leon!! Dulce made delicious breakfasts every morning with either fruit or gallo pinto and eggs. The coffee was good too. I highly recommend the Posada Fuente Castalia if you are looking for clean, quiet, comfortable accommodations with excellent breakfasts and reasonable rates.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor seemed to be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Hosts Maria Theresa and Pedro made our stay in Leon a wonderful experience! They treated us as family and went to great lengths to look out for our well-being. They made sure we never got lost (even called a restaurant to make sure we made it there safely) and offered great advice about local restaurants and attractions. And they couldn't have been kinder to our 8-year-old who loved the charming, well-restored historic building in which the B&B is housed! I highly recommend the posada's delicious breakfasts -- THE best rice & beans we had in Nicaragua and fresh eggs from Maria Theresa and Pedro's farm outside of town! The hosts are well-educated and thoughtful, and even with our poor Spanish, we learned a lot about Nicaragua's traditions and customs.

Room Tip: We recommend spending a little extra to get air conditioned rooms. Leon gets HOT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blakey96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mariposa
Hotel Mariposa
#2 of 37 in Leon
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guesthouse El Nancite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Fuente Castalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Fuente Castalia

Address: Iglesia Recoleccion 275 m. Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range: £38 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Fuente Castalia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castalia Fountain Inn is a cozy place where you will experience tranquility in a safe and familiar environment. Our Inn is in the Historic Center of the City of Leon, has wide corridors, terrace and garden with fountain very apreço for our guests. From our Inn, you can go to visit banking centers, the center of the city, markets, museums and recreational activities at night and can walk. Offer the service of caring for children under 12 years, when parents need to recreate or participate in other activities, we also offer tour services, beach and natural beauty spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Fuente Castalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing