We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Hostel El Albergue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel El Albergue
Ranked #11 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hostel is simply the best! Clean rooms, lockers, good wifi (even in the room!), nice common areas and kitchen. People working there made our stay feel like home. Both guys helping at the front desk, were very knowledgeable about the area and very understanding of our need to use hostel facilities after check out.
In the mornings pancake mass was prepared for everyone's choice of pancakes or crepes. Coffee and tea all day. What else can you ask for? :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rejsefugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 7 nights. We liked the city and did some hikes on Volcanos around.
We stayed in the dorm, in the same bed, as the second person is half price (good deal!). We liked it.
They have coffee and pancake in the morning, a good wifi connection and nice people.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Master_Freddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Being from Canada I spend my Qc. winters living in Costa Rica. Yeah I know . . . poor me ! So in respect of C.R.'s laws I have to get out every three months for 3 days so Nicaragua is quite close (3,5 hrs) from my town I go there. I have been to many cities in Nicaragua, so far through the years, but a few years ago I decided to go a little further in the country to a city by the name of Leon and I found an Albergue that was quite nice there. The city itself is a very charming one with all it's cathedrals,ruines and markets and it is quite safe. Of course just like in any other place you have to be careful but generally speaking it is safe.The staff of the Albergue were so nice to me, telling me about places to see and cool spots to just chill out . . . it was great. The only regret I have is that this last year I went again and they were fully booked. My mistake I did not check before. So it is a little far into the country from the Costarican border but defenitely worth it. Have fun !

Room Tip: There are private rooms for just a little more $ than the dorms. Good choice for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel20958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

There's a great atmosphere at El Albergue. It's close to the center, the staff are really friendly, the rooms are really good value, and the garden's a great place to relax. They also put on a really interesting film night while we were there, with a documentary about the revolution. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, and they were very helpful! Kitchen and internet access are great to have too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bohallaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hostel is clean, reasonable price and ppl here is really chilling and nice.

They have a campaign for dorms, staying dorms for 2 days and you can get FREE 1 NIGHT on july 2012. I'm sure it's cheapest you can get in this town ($4.7 pe night)

What they have...$7 dorms per night, free wifi and laptop, pancake and coffe breakfast, large kitchen and hammock, cheap shuttle buses to Guatemala and Honduras (around $30) and different activities like volcano tours.
Location is also nice, there are biggest market in Leon in few blocks and bus stop is right there.

日本人の方へ!
big footとか底抜けに明るいサーファーの塊みたいな宿にいると疲れちゃうよーもっとのんびり落ちつきたいわっていう方におすすめです。ボブマーリーみたいな顔の宿のお兄さんは英語喋りますし、中々良いキャラをしたアルパカみたいな人なので、是非会いに行って下さい。

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamilkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

El Albergue is a great, "tranquilo" place to be while staying in Leon. It is cheap, with basic rooms, internet, a good location and friendly staff. I recommend it for those of you who want to relax meet a few good people rather than party. The hammock is a nice place to swing, chat and read.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCanExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#3 of 66 in Leon
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 66 in Leon
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#7 of 66 in Leon
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colibri Hostal
Colibri Hostal
#12 of 66 in Leon
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Guardabarranco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel El Albergue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel El Albergue

Address: | Petronic gas station 40 mtrs west, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: £9 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet says about: Hostal of Albergue is a hostel in León-Nicaragua offering a tranquil and genuine Nicaraguense environment. Really, really great hostel! It is the only backpacker place with a complete Nica staff & Nicaraguan ownership that I have found in León. They have all the services that foreigners expect, and in addition all the local knowledge about culture, politics, etc. that most other places cannot provide. The entire staff is extremely knowledgeable and very interested in conversing about both Nicaraguan realities and eager to learn about the rest of the world. I'm really glad I stayed at the Albergue! Fron our guest...Our services is really complete and include: Kitchen Breakfast Internet Computer Safes deposit box Book exchanges Coffee Te Coupons for movies Welcome and enjoy León............ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel El Albergue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing