We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barbaro - CLOSED

Barbaro
Cuisines: Mediterranean, American, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Phone 505 2315 2901
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I've been to Barbaro quite a few times, generally for drinks and a few times for food. The food is always decent-they have a wide menu so there are lots of options for everyone if you've got a large group or picky eaters. I particularly enjoy their pizza which is thin crust and 100 cordabas for the small which has six slices. The cost varies from pretty inexpensive to pricey depending on your choice.

Their cocktail list is huge and full of many fruity/complicated drinks with entertaining (and dirty) names. It's best for a large group. Nothing spectacular by any means but a decent evening all around. It can get rather loud in the evenings, particularly at the end of the week. It is definitely more of a tourist spot than one for the locals.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    40
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great stop for a drink or snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I only had a smoothie here (which was great) but it was a nice place with a good atmosphere and cheap prices (which are expected in Leon).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We went on a thursday night to grab something to eat over a Beer. We ordered the medium party platter since we where feeling kinda hungry after walking all day. Dissapointing. First of all the food was definetly pre made and pre heated, whitch makes it a waste. If that wassent enough, three minutes into our meal they turned the party music up so much that we had to scream at eachother to communicate. We know its a bar, but the music was at a baerable level before we got our food.

Conclusion: i regreat eating there, since the food is pre fabricated. I would rather go to Porkys House.
If i wanted to go to a noisy bar, this would be it. Just to be clear, my rating is for the food.

Helpful?
Thank Kimorerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Make friends with the bar staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

From an initial lunchtime visit I returned again later in the evening for a meal (okay and some more food)...

On the second visit I made a point of spending some time on a barstool conversing with the bar staff (okay, trying to converse with my minimul spanish and their far better english!-) which really made for much better service later in the evening as the bar got much busier...

If (when) I ever return to Leon I will definitely spend another evening or two in this bar/restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Located on a street with about 5 or 6 clubs in Central León (which all crank on Thursday nights at least) and easy to find.

It's a big place with room for all and is well set out. We weren't mobbed by staff wanting to sit us and shove drinks and food down our necks, but service was at hand with the half raise of a hand.

The nachos were an interesting interpretation with round chips and very yellow American cheese. They'd run out of guacamole but they were still good. Those that subscribe to the theory that food should also look good may have been disappointed though. The burrito, arroz con pollo and chicken a la plancha were good. The arroz in particular was gigantic. A little disappointing that the burrito flew solo with no rice or salad.

Price is average and if I'm being really mean perhaps a shade too high.

Recommend this place for a few relaxed beers and a good feed before a night of salsa at the surrounding party houses.

Helpful?
Thank thebrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbaro also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing