We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and inexpensive (but be ready for the fire siren)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed in Las Mercedes in Managua many times and decided to try Las Mercedes in Leon on our recent visit to the northwest of Nicaragua.

The property is a half-block from the Cathedral and in the enter of the UNAN university area. A number of restaurants are nearby and the streets are filled with people and lively. The central market area and the main square of the city are about a block away. A couple of interesting galleries are within easy walking distance.

The rooms are quite small but neat and nicely maintained as is the case in the Las Mercedes, Managua property. Our room, on the second floor, had a window that looked into the interior courtyard.

Some may find the rooms unsuitably small but the rates and convenient location more than offset this issue for us. The hotel rates include free Wi-Fi for guests, a flat-panel television in the room and a quite good breakfast with cooked-to-order eggs, toast and the ubiquitous Gallo Pinto.

At 7:00 AM, we leaped to our window thinking that perhaps the end had come. The hotel is next to a fire station that sounds its siren each morning at 7:00. It's loud. Other than this noisy intrusion, our room was quiet.

The property includes a small parking area accessible through a gated entrance on a street around the corner from the hotel entrance. This was handy for us because we were driving our own vehicle but navigating Leon's narrow streets and finding the parking entrance is not for the faint of heart.

The staff was cheerful and helpful including giving us access to the parking area. The staff can communicate in English for the most part.

We found the property to be a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights while visiting the area north of Chinandega. We were happy with the price point. This is a city hotel next to the fire station and cathedral - so you won't need an alarm clock! The hotel is very clean and has locked, private parking. We felt very safe in Leon and in the hotel and the front desk was staffed whenever we had a question. A cooked to order breakfast is included starting at 6:30AM - very nice selection of fruit, gallo pinto, eggs, toast, orange juice, coffee, etc. Free internet and a short walk to all the top rated restaurants in Leon. I would return next time we are in Leon.

Room Tip: All rooms are small and probably quite similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VillasdePalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Villa de Palermo

Thank you very much for taking some time to write this great review of your stay, the entire team of the Hotel is very happy to know that our day-to-day work have recompesas like this, your good comment.
Again thank you very much, and hope your to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Nothing special. For the price, we were expecting more. We went to the beach and needed to shower before meeting family for dinner and there was no hot water! Noise from the reception area carries all the way into rooms. I was woken up by the hotel staff who were talking loudly at the crack of dawn! There was no complimentary breakfast either. The best thing about this hotel is its close proximity to the cathedral.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poki510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location only a few steps away from the main plaza in Leon.
The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean and comfortable with all of the usual amenities you would expect from this hotel chain.
Breakfast is included and is the typical fruit, eggs and rice and beans and of good quality.
This is a good value choice in a top location and you can be guaranteed that what you're getting is somewhere clean and comfortable for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanLou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnemarieWirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
197 reviews
0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes Leon

Address: Metros Norte Catedral 50 | 50 Metros Norte Catedral, Leon, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon)
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £53 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing