We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pros outweigh the cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the BW because the hotel we originally booked (Hotel Azul) said it had aircon (on its website) and when we got there it did not. So my sister and her family (who don't care about such things) stayed there while we went up the street to BW. We got a good deal (negotiate - don't just take the rack rate) at BW. At first, I thought it seemed totally charmless. No real décor and very dated. However, it was very quiet, the bed was super comfortable with good quality bedding, the air-con was quiet and much needed since Leon can be pretty hot and stuffy. The breakfast was decent and the location is great. The hotel had private and safe parking for our car and the desk guys were very nice. The internet wasn't great but they gave us the password for the café next door which was fine.

I did get pretty well acquainted with Hotel Azul and even though it had much more style and charm, I was happy with our choice as our room was very quiet, cool and comfortable and the BW breakfast was much better than Azul's.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LDJKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odon1Silva, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014
Google Translation

Reciba un cordial saludo de parte de todo el staf de BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes León.

Muchas gracias por su comentario y concidérese bienvenido cuando lo desee nos sentimos honrados de que alla disfrutado su estancia en nuestro hotel y gracias por conciderarnos uno de los mejores hoteles le invitamos a que vuelvan a hospedarse nuevamente con nostros en su proximo viaje a nicaragua.

Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

I love this place. It is modern, clean, convenient, and friendly. The staff, especially the manager Octavio have been as pleasant and as accommodating as is humanly possible. I can't say enough good things about it. If you do stay here, please tell Octavio that Dr. Mangold says "Hi!"

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Dear. Mike.

We really appreciate your kindness as writing good comments about our service, we do what we like and end of the day the best payment for our work are these little satisfaction. We thank him for his finesse again we say goodbye leaving all our Management and Service team at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I'm amazed that this is a Best Western as I have been to many around the world and this is nowhere near the usual standard. Our room wasn't remotely ready even though it was after 16.00 and we were told that everything was in turmoil because there was an inspection due the next day - surely a reason to provide good service !!
The lack of bar, restaurant and even a lobby seating area was very disappointing as was the breakfast.
The rooms are very basic but was reasonably clean although this didn't extend to the bed clothes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Steve G.

Agradecemos mucho se haya tomado el tiempo para dejarnos saber sus inquietudes, esto nos ayudara a mejorar.

Lamentamos no haber cumplido con sus expectativas, estamos trabajando para mejorar y servirle mejor cada día. Esperamos poder contar con su presencia nuevamente y poder demostrarle que estamos trabajando en función de sus necesidades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I expected better as this is a Best Western hotel. It is very central -near the cathedral and square but there did not seem to be many places to choose from to eat in the vicinity. The rooms are fairly basic but adequate-it had a TV, phone and safe and A/C but cleanliness left a lot to be desired- both the bed covers were stained and the toilet was in dire need of a good bleach as there was a rim of bacteria at the water level.
There was no bar nor restaurant, nor even a communal area and the breakfast was the most sparse I have ever had . It was 2 pieces of watermelon, 2 pieces of pineapple and coffee or tea with toast and jam(not even bu
P.S. -You wont sleep -in here as a siren goes off every morning at 7am!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window looking out on to a street with natural light and not on to the verandah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Brandy

Thank you very much for your opinion, your comments will make us better able to grow in our quality of service. We regret that your stay was not as pleasant as possible, we want to tell that breakfast is in carte (Nicaraguita, American, Continental, European) and are included in your rate. All our rooms are remodeled with new quality standards.

We wish to sincerely apologize and hope to have her back in our hotel to give us the opportunity to show that their opinion is heard.

We thanked her again took leave feedback leaving all our Management and service team at your disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel was an adequate place to hang our hats while exploring Leon and area. The rooms are very simple and the breakfast is mostly local Nicaraguan style. It was a little noisy one of the evenings when some local bars were playing loud music. Also, beware of the neighbourhood siren which goes off at 7 am every day. If you weren't already awake, you won't sleep through it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent location....1/2 block from the central park. Very nice, clean rooms and good breakfast (included in the room charge). The highlight of this place is the staff. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful. From the manager Ovideo to the cleaning staff...they were all fantastic. Thanks to you guys for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odon1Silva, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. RichNeel; en nombre de todo el staff de Best Western Las Mercedes Le agredecemos mucho por su comentario

Esperando su regreso para brindarle una gran calidad de servicio.

Saludes
GG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located centrally so you can walk around abs see many of the churches they have here. One major drawback from this is that there are not a lot of places to eat.
Also, there is no need to ask for a wakeup call because you will hear an ungodly siren at seven. You will first wonder if there has been an earthquake or and air raid.
I had to fix a few things in the room and request a tv controller that functioned. The staff is nice you just need to ask them for service.
I haven't been to many other places here and doubt I will return.
Good luck if you stay here ....

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Estoywilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear William

Thank you very much for your comments, your recommendation is very important for us. The siren at 7:00 am is a tradition in Leon, everyday sounds at 7:00 am and 12:00 md because of the history of the fire located in this area. Every day we are growing in host personalized attention, our quality standards are behind us. We invite you to come back to this beautiful city and you stay with us, you will always be welcome.

We thanked her again took leave feedback leaving all our Management and service to its disposition equipment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.1 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#9 of 15 in Leon
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes Leon

Address: Metros Norte Catedral 50 | 50 Metros Norte Catedral, Leon, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon)
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing