We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice veggie place”
Review of CocinArte

CocinArte
Ranked #13 of 97 Restaurants in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Description: CocinArte, the city's original vegetarian restaurant,is located in the oldest building of Leon (1620) a few blocks from Central park. The restaurant has a lovely green patio and soft world music is played which makes the restaurant a nice little escape from the buzzing streets of Leon. CocinArte specializes in international vegetarian dishes like falafel, pasta pesto, noodles with a mouthwatering peanut sauce or a flavorful Indian curry or chana masala. But you can also choose for a traditional Nicaraguan dish like Indio Viejo. The House special is "The CocinArte",a sizzling hot plate with sauteed veggie fajitas and vegetables. The menu offers smaller dishes like soups, quesadillas, tacos and salads For the carnivores there is a small selection of chicken dishes. Natural juices & milk shakes (without sugar!) are freshly made at the bar and a fine, strong organic coffee is served. All the food is made to order and ingredients are freshly cut. Packaging and take away is available. Open 12am -10pm, closed on Tuesdays.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice veggie place”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I´m 100 percent meat lover but to give a break to the body this is an excellent place in this intellectual city.

A bit far away from the main plaza but still in a nice neighborhood to walk better if you go a bit early in case it gets full, it is a really nice spot for vegetarians.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Byronortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CociNarte, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your review!
Food is cooked to order indeed, and we hope it was worth the waiting.Thank you for visiting our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This vegetarian restaurant has a really different menu. I like the Bami-Mani.... There are the only one, hows now how to made this nice food... Also the another food are nice, like the salads, and desserts.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PimvanCampen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hand crafted vegetarian in Leon”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

If you come with a group be prepared - the made to order dishes demand a relaxed approach to your dining experience. That being said - CocinArte is an excellent and reasonably priced restaurant with a menu filled with varied and pleasant surprises.

I admit to growing weary of standard Nica fare after about 9 or ten days in country and our discovery of CocinArte was a welcome, longed for and unexpected respite. And it came on a day when we fortunately had a 2 hour break scheduled in our activities - any less time and some of the group might have gone hungry. Be prepared to be patient and flexible (my longed for falafel was not available on the day we were there) and all will be well here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTreadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for vegetarians and omnivores alike”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I've been to Leon twice, and this is hands down my favorite place to eat-- I've been to this restaurant three times! Food is incredible and fresh; many various international cuisines are offered. Portions are HUGE. Wonderful atmosphere. Great for tourists. Not handicapped accessible-- only way in is up a big flight of stairs. I highly recommend the Bahmi Mani.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“vegetarian - eclectic menu”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Ate here with a big group- the food is MTO so it took quite a while but everything that I tasted was very good. I got a vegetarian eggplant curry that I thoroughly enjoyed. I didn't taste it but there was consensus around the table that the broccoli soup was excellent. The spinach empanadas were a nice appetizer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CocinArte also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to CocinArte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing