We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostel in the world!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilli Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilli Inn
Ranked #38 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Örebro, Orebro Lan, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hostel in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

When I came to Nicaragua Leon was one of the first cities I visited. I left Leon for a while but came back because Leon is such a nice city and Chilli Inn is an awesome hostel!
When I came to Chilli Inn they where super friendly and I stayed in Leon for a long time. They helped me a lot with my spanish and gave me tips on where to go in Leon and Nicaragua.

The restaurant is really good, cheap and it's a good place to hang out at night and have a beer or two.
The beds are really comfortable and the pool is nice on the hottest days.

I have been travelling to many countries all over the world and stayed at many different hostels. But I have to say that Chilli Inn is my favorite place.

If you ever visit Leon, do yourself a favor and stay at Chilli Inn!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    14
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
11
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varberg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This place was very nice. The owners are great and very helpful! It's also has a great location, close to everything. I would definitely stay here again and also go back to León! My favorite city in Nicaragua!

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The room was dirty and full with bugs and mosquitos. the water didn't work half of the time. they charged us 10 dollars to 'open' a battle of Rom we bought in the super market. they say that they have wifi but it didn't worked.
And most important the manager was very unkind and behave to all of the people in the hostel very not nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ofir c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc p, Owner at Chilli Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
i want to answer that review because i think that it is not really clear. here in chilli inn we have cleaning personal who do a great job, but if you rent a room for several days, like it was the case here, the cleanning lady will only get inside the room to clean if the guest ask for it, if not she will not enter, because we think that we need to respect guest privacity.

as for the water, here in leon it is really common that water goes out during day time especially in this time of the year which is dry season so we don t have any control on that.

now lets talk about the rum bottle issue, CHILLI INN as every hostel as internal rules that need to be respected by the guest. we have a sheet of these rules that is handed to guest upon arrival and the rules are post at 5 different place in the hostel. one of these rules is that no alchool bought outside of chilli inn is allowed in the hostel, there is 2 reason for this, first because we have a bar inside the hostel and second because we dont want people to stay up late drinking in the hostel making noise and bothering other guest that might want to sleep well. Leon is a really nice party town with a lot of place to go out late and the night watchman for chilli inn will open the door to guest at any time of the night.

the internet is now working, we had trouble with it and it is very hard to get service from the internet company during holidays, but now everything is back to normal

with all respects, Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were only supposed to be staying in Leon for a few days and were staying at a more popular hostel which was recommended in Lonely Planet and weren't feeling it. Went to this place on the off chance for a couple of beers and within a couple of hours were shifting our stuff down the street to move in here and ended up staying for almost a week. The owner is a really cool guy, very welcoming and friendly and there was such a great vibe the whole time we were there. Very reasonable rates and a great location close to the centre of Leon. Close by is an awesome bar called Camaleon which is owned by the same guy and they have great parties there that go on all night and play really good music. Great mix of locals and tourists and overall just a really awesome time. Highly recommended. M

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Chilli inn is a very nice place to stay! You live close to everything, easy to find your way to the marked and bars. They also have their own bar/restaurant where you can enjoy a good meal or a ice cold beer or two! :)
Since Nicaragua is a very hot country, it's nice to have a swimming pool. Relax in the sun, and take a swim to cool down.
León is a fantastic place, and I recommend to stay in Chilli inn! The best thing about the place is the people who works there, they are so friendly and fun, and do everything to make your stay even better!

So my last words are ENJOY your stay!
(Just like I did, and if possible, even more!)

Room Tip: This depends, if you want to stay in the private rooms or in a dorm! But there is a private room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthiFruthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val-d'or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I went to Nicaragua last month and I passed throw Leon. I had the chance to spend a couple of nights at the Chilli Inn. The place's so nice, the people are so great and the food's so delicious. This is the kind of place you have to stop by. You really feel a nice athmosphere, just like the name... so chilll. Nothing wrong to say about it, only positive things. Thanks to all the staff and mostly to one of the Owner Marco, so glad I met you, one more time thanks

alex the canadian

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandre r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mariposa
Hotel Mariposa
#2 of 33 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilli Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilli Inn

Property: Chilli Inn
Address: Merced Church 2 and a half block north, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The party hostel in Leon nicaragua! CHILLI INN is a brand new hostel in the center of the colonial city of Leon, close to the cathedral, tour operator and night life. the hostel counts with 2 spacious dorm room and three private rooms, a pool, a gym, laundry service and wi-fi internet. The front of the hostel host a unique Tex-Mex style restaurant, with great Mexican and American food where travellers can share a drink with the local people. CHILLI INN just chilliinn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chilli Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing