We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Carbon

Al Carbon
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Leon
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Latin, Barbecue, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent meat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a very good option for those meat eaters. Located in an antique Spanish style house, this restaurant offers different options for customers. You can also have some good salads and chicken, but beef is their specialty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank catrachosps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    116
    43
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and service but overpriced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I had the Filet Mignon and shrimp here. The Filet Mignon looked like stir fry beef. It was very thin and had no bacon wrapped around it. It tasted ok and the shrimp and the rest of the meal was good. The service was good and they can speak English fluently. The menu prices do not include tax or tip so I found it to be expensive for Nicaragua. The steak was around $15 ++ and the Pina Colada I had was 3.50 plus tax and tip. I ate in another restaurant in Leon that I like a lot better which I have also reviewed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I arrived after a big tour group was just leaving. There was only one other table who arrived after me and were served before me. I waited slightly more than a half hour for calamari out of a box precooked in a lousy batter. Tired and marginal. The french fries came from the same source, a packaged frozen flavorless batch. My mistake for not ordering beef maybe but being less than a half hour from the ocean meant to me that at least the calamari should be fresh or good frozen.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I had read awesome reviews about this restaurant. They are all true, the food was great. You must sit near the central patio, the breeze is great there. Everything was great... until we found a hair on our plate... it's a shame really because it would've been a perfect meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
275 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“For tourists, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Service is very nice, food ok but seems very tourist orientated and a bit overpriced. Almost no choice of fresh juices and offered orange juice tasted strange.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Carbon also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Al Carbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing