We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise”
Review of Campestre Habana - CLOSED

Campestre Habana
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: On the way to Las Penitas.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were on a private tour of Leon with a small group of friends. To our surprise, one couple coordinated with the owner to be open for a late lunch for our group because this restaurant was rated #1 in Leon on TripAdvisor. The food was excellent for this type of restaurant, the service warm and friendly. I've never had a better Pina Colada and many people in the group ordered one after seeing mine. Great local ambiance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Like Cuban Food?”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I DO! the was great food and plenty of it!
I left this place so full I skipped my next meal
Really Really Wonderful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Expected great things from the reviews (and expected several courses). Instead just got a choice of fish or pork quesadillas which were tasty but essentially street food. Nice but not worth the trip out of town. Contrary to other reviewers, order a return taxi as owner increases price - we were lucky to get a lift back. Good cocktails though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High expectations met with average experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I headed for a date on our first night in Leon and we were both excited to visit the #1 rated restaurant in town. We enjoyed an entertaining 10 min, $5 taxi ride to the front door and were greeted by the friendly owner as soon as we arrived. I loved my mojito with local rum and my wife her mixed fruit juice. We always appreciate a set menu as we love the surprise. The meal began with an appetizer of liver pate and marmalade, followed by main courses of stew and dressed up tortillas. The starter definitely had the most potential and the mains were average. The night became disappointing and a bit strange as after finishing our main course, we weren't offered desert, coffee or even the bill. When the bill did arrive, it totaled $35 and seemed expensive for what was offered compared to the many places we've enjoyed in Central America. When we did ask someone for the bill and to call us a taxi, the owner appeared, added an extra 100 cordobas ($5) to the tally and said he would rather drive us to town than us go back with our taxi. When we explained that we had already told our driver to plan on picking us up after dinner, he became standoffish, said he would call but it would cost us more money. After traveling the world for many years, visiting every country in Central America and both working in the tourism and hospitality industries, that's the first time a restaurant has ever charged me for a 20 sec phone call.
Overall, good atmosphere, average food, poor service, overpriced. Enjoy your trip!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Saltycarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

There were nine of us and Orlando fixed us a great meal. We just trusted him and everything was yummy! The server, Juan, was on vacation but when he heard that our friends were bringing us in for lunch, he came in to serve us all. If you are looking for a great meal, don't miss this delightful restaurant. It made our trip to Nicaragua a little more special!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelRookie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campestre Habana also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing