We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hostel with good central location.”
Review of Colibri Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colibri Hostal
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The place has really cool central location, good security, decent rooms for the price and nice garden & hammock area. They are in touch with near-by tour operator so they were helpful in this way as well. I stayed there only two nights, but I can't complain about noise from the street or people partying around either. If I ever get to Leon again, I would book the place again.
Note: If you try to get to hostel on your own from bus station, make sure you know exactly where are you going. I would be nice if they showed on web lat/lon coordinates along with their address that would make it way easier. My GPS was pretty much useless because of this and get oriented by address in Leon is quite a challenge for firstcomer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haluzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

This Hostel is well located a couple blocks from the main plaza as well as the University. For being so centrally located it is a quiet destination with comfortable relaxing areas -- hammocks, as well as multiple showers areas.... important for this warm part of the world. The included breakfast is first class and there are a wide variety of tours run out of the hostal which makes for easy planning and accessing some unique excursions ( ie boarding down a volcano). Staff were very helpful as is the owner -- taking time out to answer questions about the local area and being well versed in historical relevance as well as future trends. Overall a great experience.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank nels179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The Colibri is a very nice place if you just want to hang around or you up for some adventure... They are offering plenty of tours from the local tourist office.The place is very calm, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms and the shared kitchen are clean and there is always a cold beer in the fridge. The prices are average but the bonus is that there is the breakfast included in the price which is actually very nice.
Our room had a fan and a mosquito net. If the room was too hot, there is a nice and comfy place to hang around in the hammocks surrounded by palm trees and plants.
It´s very good situated, close to everything : central park, market, bus station, supermarket.
The internet is fast and reliable. I can strongly recommend it .

Room Tip: rooms with a private bathroom and a mosquito net are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boszi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Good place to stay. Two streets from supermarket, center and only three buildings from the best view point of town. Very friendly personal, good breakfast and fast internet. It's a pity the guests can't use the very big kitchen. (Except the fridge of course)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanjansen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Having read some of the other comments, I think some people expected too much from a place which doesn't pretend to be a luxury boutique hotel. I found the accommodation to be comfortable, clean and unpretentious. The management were helpful and friendly. El Colibri has a nice garden, hence it's a good place to meet other travellers and find out why Nicaragua is such a good place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Had a great time at this hostel. It is very comfortable and clean and the staff are great. Breakfast in the morning was included in the price and good value.It is well located to the sights. I stayed in the dorm was very comfortable. I will definitely go back if I am in Leon again and already have recommende to people I have met.The only down, as with every hostel/hotel, is there is no smoking laws in Nicaragua, Leaving that aside had a great time here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelColibri, Owner at Colibri Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Brandon,

Thank you for visiting us! Good to had you here!
Your recommendations paid off directly after you left. We put up several signs for ´non smoking´ at the kitchen - computer area - dinner room and reception table!
This means we left only the open areas for smoking, like the garden / rancho and front ´patio´.
Hoping this gives either smoking and non-smoking people the change to enjoy our hostel.
After you left two surfers came to our hostel, recommended by you! They also had a great time with us, thanks again!

If you are near again - please visit us.

Regards,

Alberto & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 4 nites and it was wonderful. There is a beautiful courtyard, large kitchen to use, and hammocks to relax in. Breakfast is included and was a nice addition to the low cost and central location. Not well set up for motorcycle parking but the owner let us park in his garage for our duration in Leon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#5 of 62 in Leon
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Malinche
Hostal Malinche
#16 of 62 in Leon
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#9 of 62 in Leon
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 62 in Leon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colibri Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colibri Hostal

Address: Church Recoleccion 1/2 Block North, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: £8 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Colibrí is located in the center of the Colonial City of Leon, Nicaragua.The hostel has a long history in Leon but is now under a new management, with eyes for details, service and comfort. We have two dorm rooms, each with 4 single beds, lockers / night tables and bed lights.The other nine rooms are singles / doubles or triples, all fully equipped with private bath rooms or shared bath rooms.It’s a beautiful house with lots of space. We have a rancho with hammocks, garden space for the hummingbirds, patio space for your rocking chairs, chill room for watching movies, computer area to check your mails or travel plans and last but not least: Fully Equipped Kitchen!We like it ´tranquilo´, good atmosphere – nice people, not a lot of hassle! We make sure you enjoy your stay and sleep well while you stay with us.We have lots for FREE: Computer use, WIFI, DVD´s, breakfast, coffee and our service.We run daily tours /*Volcano Boarding, transports and other services all around Leon and Nicaragua; just ask ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colibri Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing