We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, central hostel”
Review of Colibri Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colibri Hostal
Ranked #13 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent the first night in a room with a private bathroom and then the following couple of nights with a shared bathroom (due to availability) and both were great. The only thing I would say is that the rooms are quite pricey considering what we've been paying elsewhere in Nicaragua ($23 with shared bathroom, $28 with private bathroom), where as we have been paying $12-$16 for an ensuite room since then.

My favourite feature about the hostel is the fact that it looks as though it has all been quite recently decorated. The paintings on the walls are lovely and really liven the place up. Also, the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming and created a great atmosphere within the hostel.

There was one slight issue that worried me a little though, the fact that a bleach-based product is used to wash the dishes. After washing up the dishes after breakfast, I couldn't get rid of the strong smell of bleach from my hands, even after scrubbing them with soap, and I could smell it in the cups at breakfast. I haven't come across this anywhere else, and from looking into it online, it seems that it is more important to wash up in hot water (which was not available) than taking the risk of bleached dishes not being washed up properly (as it's difficult to monitor guests).

Overall, this is a lovely hostel with excellent staff and a great hammock area to relax, not to mention an ideal location. My only suggestions would be to consider the risks of using bleach on the dishes and perhaps offer a lower fee without breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Colibri Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Kevin and the folks at Colibri provide the best service! We were in a complete bind trying to get a bus to Honduras on a Sunday afternoon when everything was closed (great planning on our part) and Kevin phoned all the bus companies to help us get sorted. He even helped us book our next hotel!

The hostel is clean with a huge kitchen, lots of showers and toilets, and has a really chill vibe and some of the best hammocks we've seen in a Central America. Everyone is really friendly and it's nice and quiet at night.

Definitely one of the best in Leon, and we scoped out all the competition before we picked this gem.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

At $23 a night for a double it isnt particularly cheap, but with some negociation and removing breakfast, you can get a good deal.

The rooms are large and comfortable and there is a lovely seating area with hammocks in the garden. The kitchen is spacious and has all that you need.

They are stingey for charging so much for drinking water re-fills.

Location is perfect, central and close to a supermarket.

We had some problems whilst staying but the dutch owner dealt with everything very well and does a great job running the place

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My friends and I spent 2 nights at Hostel Colibri and we really enjoyed it. The staff is very nice and they helped us finding a place to have dinner, giving us instructions for Tours, etc.

The room had all we needed to spend 2 nights, it was clean and had lockers inside. The rest of the hostel is very nice. It has a kitchen,a dinner room,a terrace, etc. There is a computer and wifi 24 hours/day. The breakfast was included in the room price and it is really good!

We recommend this place for sure and you have to visit the city, Leon is amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGG1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and totally enjoyed it. Great atmosphere and very helpful staff. Room clean and breakfast was very nice. Good security too. Nothing not to like. We had a two room ensuite and was very happy. Nothinh not to like.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here in Jan 13 whilst visiting my daughter who was volunteering in Leon. Lovely dental location. Quiet and peaceful with excellent breakfast. Nice garden hammock area to chill if I ever come to Leon again I will book the Colibri

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07jenny752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I'm always searching for a nice chill place to hang out when I travel and Colibri was perfect for just that. The atmosphere was excellent and the gardens are the perfect place to chill out. I really felt at home while I was staying with them. The staff were always helpful. Whether you're looking for help around the city, surrounding areas or tours, Albertus and Rasta are full of great advice. If you don't speak spanish there are members of staff speaking fluent english and they are quite patient if you are trying to learn and practice your spanish. Breakfast is always a bonus and there's something tranquil about dining with the visiting hummingbirds in the back garden :) The rooms were always clean and plenty of room to sort your stuff when you need. Thanks for a great stay and can't wait to see you again when we come back through Leon.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from the street so noise isn't an issue, bathrooms front and back and good in...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#3 of 61 in Leon
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#9 of 61 in Leon
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Malinche
Hostal Malinche
#12 of 61 in Leon
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#4 of 61 in Leon
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#2 of 61 in Leon
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colibri Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colibri Hostal

Address: Church Recoleccion 1/2 Block North, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Colibrí is located in the center of the Colonial City of Leon, Nicaragua.The hostel has a long history in Leon but is now under a new management, with eyes for details, service and comfort. We have two dorm rooms, each with 4 single beds, lockers / night tables and bed lights.The other nine rooms are singles / doubles or triples, all fully equipped with private bath rooms or shared bath rooms.It’s a beautiful house with lots of space. We have a rancho with hammocks, garden space for the hummingbirds, patio space for your rocking chairs, chill room for watching movies, computer area to check your mails or travel plans and last but not least: Fully Equipped Kitchen!We like it ´tranquilo´, good atmosphere – nice people, not a lot of hassle! We make sure you enjoy your stay and sleep well while you stay with us.We have lots for FREE: Computer use, WIFI, DVD´s, breakfast, coffee and our service.We run daily tours /*Volcano Boarding, transports and other services all around Leon and Nicaragua; just ask ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Colibri Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing