We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Balcones De Leon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Balcones De Leon
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Los Balcones is in a great location. We arrived without a reservation and they were able to fit us in to a nice room with an outside balcony. The balcony door had to be opened to reveal natural light. The decor is very pleasant and our room was clean. A light breakfast was included with the room price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank htkalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
41
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I've been returning to Hotel Los Balcones since 2009 and the staff have never failed to be helpful, happy and a delight to talk to. The hotel itself is a beautiful old building with rooms around a central open air courtyard - my favourite room looks out over the Cathedral and the rooftops of Leon. Every time I walk through the front door after a long day in the countryside of Nicaragua, it feels like coming home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Hotel Los Balcones De Leon is a charming little hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and efficient. The room was amazingly clean as was the lobby which is well adorned with interesting antiques. It is an excellent spot to spend a few days and I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Leon.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the frigid aircon but If your budget is tight the hotel stays cool enough that I am sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roncon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Comfortable, centrally located hotel with a lovely colonial feel. Open and airy with lots of wood and creaky floors! Many rooms with balconies overlooking the street, comfortable lounge areas and a pleasant bar/breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richfolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The place was beautiful, the room was clean, the staff was nice and breakfast was good. The location was very good: close to downtown, restaurants, grocery store. I which I had got hot water, but this was a very minor inconvenient in this high quality hotel and the air conditionning was a lot more useful.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Culbute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This unique, charming colonial hotel conquers you from the moment you arrive. The friendly staff, willing to help you with anything and the owners are there most of the time making sure your stay is perfect! They will help you arrange visits to the any of the neighboring attractions and give you the best recommendations as to where to go, what to do, and how!
The verandas are perfect for relaxing, or just having a drink with that special someone...
It is perfectly located, a few blocks from the movies, restaurants, cathedral and most of Leon's most beautiful churches! And it is a place where you can easily stay in touch with friends and family, with its two wifi signals.
Rooms are spacey, clean, and conformable with the much needed air-conditioning.
Breakfast was great, but the best thing about this hotel is the service!!! The staff and the owners will make sure yours is an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quieter stay, choose one of the inside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasseriaPilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location since it is only a couple of blocks from all Leon has to offer. You can visit all the sites in 10 minutes or less walking. There is also a grocery store a block away where you can get any incidentals you may need.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. They were willing to help answer any questions we had.
The breakfast was a typical nicaraguan breakfast of rice/beans, fruit, eggs and fruit juice. Breakfast is included every day. And if you want to have great pastries you can walk 1/2 block and there is an excellent bakery.
The building is a colonial style. They have done an excellent in trying to maintain this style throughout the hotel. The wooden doors, the pictures, the rustic wooden tables. Very nice!
We would certainly stay here next time we visit Leon.

Room Tip: Rooms without balcony are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Balcones De Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones De Leon

Property: Hotel Los Balcones De Leon
Address: Esquina de los Bancos 1C al Este, Leon 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Los Balcones De Leon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a nicaraguan colonial atmosphere witha warm family feeling in our hotel, with all the standard services, personalized attention and more to make your stay something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Balcones De Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing