We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just walk upstairs, get a Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Los Balcones De Leon
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just walk upstairs, get a Room with a View”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

At the beginning was not our first choice, but stumbled upon it when we searching for a place to stay and were blown away. The downstairs lobby and garden is a little overdone and not entirely attractive, but just wait until you get upstairs - its breathtaking. Views of the cathedral over red clay-tile rooftops, ancient-wood and wrought iron balconies over pretty Leon streets - awesome. The kind of hotel that makes you want to just sit with a book and enjoy your view. Make sure you get a room upstairs, and make sure it has a balcony.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
41
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Centrally located; superb place from which to see the city. Fantastic service-- amazingly friendly staff. Great amenities. Definitely worth the price. Rooms are comfortable and clean.

One downside: fronting on two main roads mean traffic noises early in the morning until late at night.

Would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Malisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
681 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,758 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Sadly one of the worst hotels on my recent visit to the region. The communal areas are great, well maintained, clean and the staff try their best although they dont always achieve. The rooms are dirty, unkempt, smell must and are very dingy with very poor sub standard lighting. Even with the a/c on full blast the room never cooled below 30 degrees. Had to leave outside doors and interior door open when in room to try to get room to a cool enough temperature to be bearable. Photos attached dont reflect the majority of room my group taye din (maybe reserved for higher payment?) Food is average and overpriced for what it is. The internet is down more than running and dont touch the water from the taps unless you have plenty of medication (probably ageing pipes!). Sad as it has potential and is quite well located.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leon hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Los Balcones in Leon oozes charm. A gorgeous hotel right in town close to everything. Rooms are clean, cool and a good size. The staff go out of their way to help you out and are all very sweet! The food in the restaurant is tasty and cheap so if you can't be bothered going out, here is a good choice. We had an incident where my friends phone was stolen from out of the street and the owner went out of his way to help us out! Thanks Don Carlos. Everything you need, centrally located and a beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Room 14 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in August for 2 nights and was very disppointed. The facade is appealing and the location is good. Once behind the scenes the true picture is less than appealling. I had a ground floor single room, very small, very smelly and very dirty. Bathroom and lighting in a state of disrepair. The bathroom was disgusting and I could not bear being in the room as it was so depressing. The teenager staff did not appear to know much and had no command of English despite assurances that staff spoke some English. They also spent a lot of time flirting, ticking and kissing each other in the reception area which abruptly came to a halt when a guest appeared on the scene. One staff member used the pc for guests in the reception area to surf dancing sites on the internet and did not appear to understand that guests wanted to check their emails on it. Very noisy from 5am onwards caused by giggling and shouting staff changing shifts and the TV in the reception area put on at full volume. There was also drilling noises as there seem to be some repair work going on. Don't expect to get much comfort or sleep here or an acceptable level of service. Value for money - nil.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artemis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was in Leon and had booked a room at another place. When I got there I was so disappointed in the accommodations I asked around for recommendations and was told about Balcones. I am so happy I went there. The room was clean, the AC was cold, the shower was warm and the staff was very friendly. When I read some of the other reviews I had to laugh. It seems like some people are expecting the Waldorf Astoria. You are in Central America!!! This place is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

For the price and judging by the facade I expected good service and a modicum of luxury; neither of which I got. It's a pretty building with a nice view and a convenient location but so it should be at these prices. We left after one night because we couldn't see what we were forking out for and went to stay at the fabulous hostel Tortugo Booluda. The staff were pleasant enough but didn't seem to know their own town and couldn't offer the most basic directions. Breakfast was also a major let down. There were a handful of options. I ordered pancakes which were apparently unavailable and my partner ordered eggs "your way" which seemed to be scrambled, scrambled or scrambled and came with ham (this was not on the menu and he is a vegetarian!) In the end we each had a small pile of rice and beans and two slices of plastic bread. The room was cute and the eponymous balconies were cuter but the shower was not hot and little more than a dribble. Not good enough for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#6 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Balcones De Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones De Leon

Property: Hotel Los Balcones De Leon
Address: Esquina de los Bancos 1C al Este, Leon 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Los Balcones De Leon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a nicaraguan colonial atmosphere witha warm family feeling in our hotel, with all the standard services, personalized attention and more to make your stay something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Los Balcones De Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing