We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask for a room that doesn't face the street!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Los Balcones De Leon
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leon
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ask for a room that doesn't face the street!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Los Balcones was a beautiful spanish mansion. The rooms were spacious, beds ok. The wood floor was a bit dirty, you had to were shoes out of the shower. Bathroom was basic, no hot water (room temp). The building itself is lovely, the common areas were very charming. Free WiFi, helpful and friendly staff, and good food in the restaurant. The rooms have lovely balconys (hence the name), but the ones facing the street are very noisy. Ask for a room in the back. It was a little expensive $58/nt, but that did include a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
41
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st.petersburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

don't stay there. the stuff of hotel is stealing from the rooms
and even from the safe. we left an envelope with 2500 usd
in reception safe and received back 2000 usd only. we were running to catch the outbound flight so we didn't have time to deal with police. this thing destroyed the whole image of leon and nicaragua, which was great up to date. poor robbers

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gleb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leon hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

I've stayed at Los Balcones twice now (Dec 2006 & Jan 2009).

It's a nice little hotel. It's not the Hyatt or even El Convento. But it's also ~$50 not $100+ per night.

The rooms are ok, not amazing, but good enough. The showers are the common (central/south american) electric heating heads. The A/C is good when working (check it when you arrive - they'll switch rooms if it's not). The rooms are clean, and the beds are ok. If you like spending lots of time in your room, this is not the place for you. If you want a bed, A/C, and shower, this is great.

The real reason to stay here is the upstairs balconies overlooking the city - nice sunset over the cathedral. It's a great spot to read a book or hang out and talk. They have good chairs and fans up there. Sometimes there is bar service, but you can bring your own, or bring a drink from the bar if you like.

The owner (Juan-Carlos) is a very nice guy who will go out of his way to help you. He drove us to a place we were looking for, and even got them to open early for us.

(He recently opened another Los Balcones in Chinendega, so he may not be around as much.)

  • Liked — the balcones
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fishonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul,Mn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

We just stayed at this hotel and found several problems with the hotel. The room we were assigned to the ac didn't work and the fan barely turned around, with the temperature in Leon being extremely hot and humid we needed the ac and fan to be working. The room looked liked it had not been cleaned completely, no towels in the room , shower was dirty. We were then moved to another room where the ac and fan worked and the room was cleaner but very dark lighting so one could not read.
There was a party in the hotel and the music was so loud that the floors vibrated and this went on until 12:30 AM. Other guests in the hotel hollered out their doors to turn the music down.
Breakfast was fair but the jelly that was served in these small individual servings had obviously been served to others and saved as they were partially empty and didn't appear clean.
I will be returning Leon and will not stay in thishotel.
The hotel did have a convenient location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not clean, equipment not working, question food sanitation
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

Great location, pleasant staff and comfortable rooms. Moderate price. Highly recommended. Interesting interior atmosphere, courtyard and interior balconies.

  • Liked — Comfort and convience
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishdogface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2008

This is an old hotel with lots of balconies overlooking the street and interesting nooks and crannies inside. It's about five blocks from the central square but we found more of interest in the street where the hotel is: good places to eat and a couple of backpackers with useful notice boards and a laundry service. It's probably a 3 star hotel and we found the staff helpful. Leon itself is not a very attractive city, although there are some nice colonial buildings. We found it interesting for a couple of days. We made the mistake of thinking we could cross the border easily from there into Honduras, but in the end we gave up and returned to Managua where it was easy to get an express bus to the border.

  • Liked — Watching the street activity from our balcony
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2008

Avoid this hotel. It was booked for us as part of a tour. It was dirty and uncomfortable. There were bedbugs -- my husband got 8 bites in one night. Fortunately, we only were there two nights. The TV was suspended from the ceiling, so high that we strained our necks to see it. Bath was not clean. Breakfast was mediocre. We complained to our tour operator, who told us they in turn contacted management. Perhaps there will be improvements, but until confirmed, avoid this place.

  • Liked — Decent location
  • Disliked — Bedbugs!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SW_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#6 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Balcones De Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones De Leon

Property: Hotel Los Balcones De Leon
Address: Esquina de los Bancos 1C al Este, Leon 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Los Balcones De Leon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a nicaraguan colonial atmosphere witha warm family feeling in our hotel, with all the standard services, personalized attention and more to make your stay something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Balcones De Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing