We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks so much nicer than it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Los Balcones De Leon
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leon
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Looks so much nicer than it is”
Reviewed 18 December 2010

This place looks lovely because its in a nice building with tasteful decoration and interesting features. That's where the positives begin to end however. On arrival we were told that we'd need to pay $15 per night to use the aircon which is ridiculous and the only time I've ever seen a charge to use aircon. So we spent two nights in a unbearably stuffy room with a weak ceiling fan. Furthermore the solid wood balcony doors did not open and this made the room very dingy and even hotter. Our room was very noisy because it was on the corner of two streets. The shower was cold and flooded the bathroom. There was an area wide power cut when we first arrived that lasted over an hour but the staff didn't once check we were ok. Finally I ordered breakfast on my first morning and the staff brought out more items than I asked for and then charged me for them and took ages to come back with change! Other members of my group were also given different breakfasts to what they asked for.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    42
    24
    14
    11
See reviews for
17
42
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I have been staying in Los Balcones for over 5 years. I find it to be very plesent. I have made it a point to pass this on to all I meet that are staying in Leon. We love to read on the second floor overlooking the city. The charm of old Leon is here at Los Balcones.
We will be going back to this hotel this next week. This is the only place that we will stay in Leon. Other hotels have not been the greatest for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmrowlettsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The good: free internet, but very slow. Close to cathedral. Nicely decorated.

The bad:
internet is very slow.
Rooms are very noisy, like sleeping on the street. Bring earplugs!
Airco and fan can barely keep up with the heat.
You can not open all doors to the balcones.
There are holes next to the wooden doors so bugs can come in. A musquito net is recommended.
Staff is unfriendly and unhelpful with the exception of one boy.
breakfast is poor: little of it and no choice.
Bathtowels are bad. Leave white stuff on you.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryonderwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leon hotels

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

only stayed here one night - picked an inside room on the 2nd floor - quiet but had only one window - breakfast was mediochre - friendly staff - quite clean - okay value over all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris10dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Free but slow Net (.1mb/s) Wonderful place, clean and funky. As you might guess by the name many rooms have lovely balconies. Its about 2 blocks from city square. Bit noisy if on street side.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

The building itself is beautiful, and rooms spacious. The bathroom curtain was moldy, and the bathroom old and dated, which I wouldn't mind if it was cleaner. Not the worst hotel I've been in, but very basic and could use more attention to the bathroom area. Noisy if have a room facing the street. Nice views from the 2nd floor. The service at breakfast was extremely poor. The location is good, close to the main plaza and places to eat.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_from_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed at the Los Balcones for two nights. We had one of the rooms facing onto the road and whilst it was noisy during the day it didn't really keep us awake at night. Some of our group had courtyard facing rooms which they said were a bit airless (not the case with our room as we could open the balcony doors) and didn't have hot showers which we did . The room had air con and a TV with lots of satellite channels and a very comfortable bed. Our room was pretty basic, as are a lot of the hotels in Nicaragua, but quite large (although it had two double beds and 1 singe bed thus not leaving much space!) and the bathroom was a reasonable size, pretty modern and had hot water.

The hotel has a stunning courtyard and the public areas are very tastefully decorated and a lovely place to sit and read, have a drink etc. The hotel is centrally located - 2 blocks from the cathedral - and there are several bars/cafes in the same street where you can get breakfast.lunch and dinner.

We found the staff in the hotel to be very friendly and helpful and our room and public areas were kept very clean.

This hotel is comfortable and I would say a good mid range price hotel. If you do want luxery ,and can afford it ,I would recommend La Perla.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Portal de 1610
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Balcones De Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones De Leon

Property: Hotel Los Balcones De Leon
Address: Esquina de los Bancos 1C al Este, Leon 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Los Balcones De Leon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a nicaraguan colonial atmosphere witha warm family feeling in our hotel, with all the standard services, personalized attention and more to make your stay something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Balcones De Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing