We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I recently stayed at hotel azul with some friends and it was an amazing experience. The hotel is simple but beautiful and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We only enjoyed a cup of coffee in the morning but the food did look amazing and I wish we had more time to try it out. The pool is gorgeous and relaxing. The rooms are simple but wonderful. I highly recommend Hotel Azul.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Gerente at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to have you here once again, and we would love to serve you one of our dishes in our restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    68
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
47
111
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is very simple in design, but SO nice. Staff is incredibly friendly and talkative. The pool is lovely and often needed after one of Leon's many hot days. I particularly enjoyed the swinging bed/chair as well- it's perfect for reading!

We were in room 3 for 2 nights...which included a HUGE king bed and a twin. I kid you not, this bed was like sleeping on clouds. We had plenty of space for our stuff, although there was no storage units like a dresser, large table...etc to place things on. But taking peeks into other rooms, I think that we got the best one! Ask for that one if you can ;) Icy cold A/C, and sometimes spotty WiFi.

Bathroom is a little cramped, but we managed.

All in all, a great hotel at a great price! Plus, the location is perfect, even if parking is limited (there is a public parking lot a few blocks over however.)

Room Tip: Room 3!! Huge huge huge king bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landuyt0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Gerente at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy you liked your stay at Azul and we hope to have you here another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Such a relaxing stay with the pool, bed swing and cool room with A/C. Restaurant has ridiculously good food for so cheap! We paid $20 for a top class meal, drinks and a tip for 2!

Friendliest staff we have met, went the extra step to ensure we got everything we needed including organising transport to san juan del sur, use of hotel phone for free and home made sangria with breakfast.

Recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: A/C room is awesome but you could get away with just having the ceiling fan. rooms are not the bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Gerente at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guests!

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor! Good to hear you liked your stay with us. We hope you had a nice time in San Juan del Sur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brione sopra Minusio, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

There is probably a distinction to do between the restaurant and the hotel..
This review is about the hotel..

We booked at Azul for 3 nights, but left after the first one.
When we entered the place we were absolutely impressed and amazed. Super first impression and extremely kind manager..
The nightmare started when we got into the room.
We are Italian and love minimalist design, but when that means:
- 10 sqm double room (including bathroom)
- No AC and more than 30°C in your room (and it was winter time can't imagine during summer)
- No door between bathroom and room
- Paper-thin walls, and you hear every single word of people next-door and sitting at the restaurant)
- No shelter where to put your stuff
- Zero privacy. There is no entrance door, just a window door that gives directly on the patio
- No mosquito nets

We couldn't sleep a single hour and in top of that the place is next door to a "centro juvenil" that at 7.30 of Sunday morning started very loud music.

Briefly, the design of the Azul needs to be completely revised otherwise it will be a wonderful to see place but totally non functional.

On the other hand food at restaurant was really good, and again people working there extremely nice..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank churchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review.

We closed down last week, to work on several improvements of our hotel rooms. From Saturday 8th of March, all our rooms will have air conditioning (!) and extra luggage racks to make your stay at Azul more comfortable.

Thanks and we hope you will come back to try out our improved rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I did not stay at the hotel as I was visiting relatives in Leon, but had dinner at the restaurant three times. The food is delicious, the menu limited but quite creative, and the minimalist ambiance with a touch of sophistication proved to be very relaxing to the senses. I did check the pool area and one of the downstairs rooms, and found them very pleasing from a design point of view. I was explained by the owner the fixes that were in the making to improve the rooms. I have the feeling that the upstairs rooms would be quieter and with better ventilation through the window above the door. This place would only get better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoneserrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I haven't stayed in the hotel yet because I live in Leon but I've eaten at the restaurant twice and the food has been consistently delicious. It is well-plated and the flavors blend perfectly. The Thai beef salad and the Thai spring rolls are a nice break from traditional Nicaraguan food (which I also love). The food is also reasonably priced, $250 cords for the Thai beef salad was well worth it. My housemate had breakfast there as well, the eggs benedict for $130 cords and said it was fantastic.

The restaurant and pool area are lovely, the colors are cool and relaxing and the dark wood against white walls offer a great atmosphere. With windows/doors open to the street it's also great for people watching.

The service was impeccable and the staff are friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are small but well-designed and offer lotion and cotton hand towels instead of paper towels which is a nice little luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review! The thai beef salad and spring rolls are some of our Asian dishes that we have on the menu. Hope to see you soon again to try out the other plates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect is the word who describe the whole concept of the place, decoration and ambient is very elegant, I only had dinner at the restaurant, a lovely surprise was the natural fruit cocktail, the starter Tostones were excellent but the main dish SALMON was immaculate, presentation, flavour just perfection plus extremely good service and receiving compliments from the owner created the atmosphere of being a special guest! Just wonderful, I loved it!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brayan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear client!

Thank you so much for your feedback! It is great hear that you are in love with Azul. You will always be a special guest and more than welcome to have dinner at our restaurant. Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#6 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Hotel & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Hotel & Restaurante

Property: Azul Hotel & Restaurante
Address: De La Catedral, 2 Cuadras y 1/2 Al Norte | From the Cathedral, 2 1/2 blocks to the North, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul is a contemporary boutique hotel in the heart of Leon, Nicaragua. The hotel has 10 rooms, all with private bathroom with a warm shower, comfortable bed, WiFi, flatscreen TV, air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The rooms surround a peaceful courtyard with a charming swimming pool. Our restaurant serves a healthy breakfast, lunch and dinner with exotic flavors from all around the world. Our excellent professional staff will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. When in Leon, make Azul your home away from home. We guarantee you will be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Azul Hotel & Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing