We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was so pleased with my decision to stay at Hotel Azul during a recent trip to Leon. Impeccable, friendly service from the moment we arrived. Air conditioning was well worth the extra $10. Comfortable atmosphere. Really high standard for hospitality. Can't imagine staying anywhere else next time in Leon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you, and we hope to host you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

New, centrally located, clean hotel. Easy walk to the city centre, grocery store and several tour operators. Great value for the cost, we got the 3 nights for the price of 2 special. Room was small, but clean with AC but no hot water. Most importantly the bed was comfortable. There is a club next door that can be loud but they shut down early during the week. We did have one night where they went till after midnight but there isn't much the hotel can do about that.

The pool in the courtyard was nice to lounge around and fairly clean. Our hostess Lucy was more than happy to provide drink service at the pool. Lucy is a good host and seems very eager to ensure that guests are happy and will help you if she can!

Negatives: The rooms need a picture or two on the walls. Very stark!!! The ceiling fans need to be cleaned because when you turn them on the dust falls off. The cushions on the loungers need to be cleaned more often or at least get a print to hide the water stains.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BandE_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your positive review. Since July, the church next door is closed down; they moved to another place outside the city center. So there won't be loud music during some weekdays anymore. We also started with art in some of our rooms, to give them a more cosy feeling. Thank you for your suggestions. We hope to see you once again in Azul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Azul was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were clean, the atmosphere was relaxing, and most importantly, the service was top notch. It was a particularly hot day when my friend and I checked in, and while we were registering one of the workers brought us fresh glasses of ice water. It's the little things!! We ended up having several meals at Hotel Azul - the fruit and ice cream waffles were really filling and refreshing. For about $40/night, it's an absolute steal.

I stayed in about 5 hotels during my two week vacation in Nicaragua. Hotel Azul was by far that best - and not even the most expensive.

Location was great too. Just two blocks from the central plaza and cathedral.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi! Thank you so much for your nice review, we hope to see you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We checked in very late, but there was someone at the front desk waiting for us. Although it was the middle of the night, they allowed our local friends to come up and check out the room, which turned out to be so very very tiny... Tiny, but perfect. Everything seemed new and clean. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable and the AC was quiet. We were surprised to have no hot water, to which we are accustomed (it was warm-ish now and then), but it was refreshing compared to the heat outside. We could get wi-fi sitting on the lounge chair just outside the room, but didn't need it very often as we spent most of our time out and about. The restaurant was also excellent, and we ended us eating there every morning before even showering and getting ready to go out! The staff were wonderfully helpful, friendly, and fun. It was the perfect, quiet escape from the heat and noise outside the hotel.
We wished we had extended our stay earlier, but had to move to another hotel in Leon, and the next place was quite literally twice as expensive and half as nice.
Even after returning home, we missed Azul!

Room Tip: Room 10 doesn't get very good wi-fi in the room, but has a comfy lounge chair right out front wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review! We hope to host you once again in Leon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice hotel in a perfect location. The rooms are simple but comfortable and very clean. Bathroom is comfortable and gives you everything you need. Okay no hot water but didnt miss it very much. Very nice pool and the lighting in the evening is very beautifull, brings a nice atmosphere to the place. Staff are very nice and helpfull. Only thing, i always like it when you can have breakfast included, now breakfast is seperate. But that is just a personal preference. Other hotels in Leon seem to be a little bit worn out sometimes so Azul is a top choice in Leon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your awesome review, and suggestions! We will think about that, and will put special promotions on this website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Azul was perfect for our three day visit in Leon. Great location, like a quiet and cool pause in between sight seeing can walk everywhere. Food is great and affordable, super nice atmosphere, also very helpful setting up a tour on short notice hiking Momotombo. All around highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review, it is good to read that Azul felt like a cool place to relax in between all the sight seeing you did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Luxury hotel easy walk to town square and restaurants. One small issue with bathrooms being cramped, the toilet location did not allow much leg room for taller people. There was no hot water connection and you had to pay extra for the the air conditioning. The restaurant food was delicious and well presented but expensive. The service was also friendly and attentive. There were several restaurants close by for cheaper food.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back. All seemed to have ceiling fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Gerente at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

We give our guests the option to have air conditioning in their room, or to have it without. The rooms are cheaper, when guests decide not to use the air conditioning. To safe energy, we also decided to not provide warm water showers. It is always very warm in Leon, and most guests tell us that they don't need it very much here. They are mostly looking forward to cool down in the pool or to take a cold shower after exploring the city on a very warm day. And please, try our food the next time. We cook fresh, healthy, international dishes, with the best ingredients that we can get. It is absolutely worth the money :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#9 of 15 in Leon
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Hotel & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Hotel & Restaurante

Address: De La Catedral, 2 Cuadras y 1/2 Al Norte | From the Cathedral, 2 1/2 blocks to the North, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Azul Hotel & Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul is a contemporary boutique hotel in the heart of Leon, Nicaragua. The hotel has 10 rooms, all with private bathroom with a warm shower, comfortable bed, WiFi, flatscreen TV, air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The rooms surround a peaceful courtyard with a charming swimming pool. Our restaurant serves a healthy breakfast, lunch and dinner with exotic flavors from all around the world. Our excellent professional staff will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. When in Leon, make Azul your home away from home. We guarantee you will be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Azul Hotel & Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing