We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
175
80
27
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
80
27
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water small room king bed granola nice pool the air conditioning tasty breakfast would stay here again enjoyed our stay cerro negro three nights nicaragua heat erick lounge cathedral oasis
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

New, centrally located, clean hotel. Easy walk to the city centre, grocery store and several tour operators. Great value for the cost, we got the 3 nights for the price of 2 special. Room was small, but clean with AC but no hot water. Most importantly the bed was comfortable. There is a club next door that can be loud but they shut down early during the week. We did have one night where they went till after midnight but there isn't much the hotel can do about that.

The pool in the courtyard was nice to lounge around and fairly clean. Our hostess Lucy was more than happy to provide drink service at the pool. Lucy is a good host and seems very eager to ensure that guests are happy and will help you if she can!

Negatives: The rooms need a picture or two on the walls. Very stark!!! The ceiling fans need to be cleaned because when you turn them on the dust falls off. The cushions on the loungers need to be cleaned more often or at least get a print to hide the water stains.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BandE_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your positive review. Since July, the church next door is closed down; they moved to another place outside the city center. So there won't be loud music during some weekdays anymore. We also started with art in some of our rooms, to give them a more cosy feeling. Thank you for your suggestions. We hope to see you once again in Azul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Azul was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were clean, the atmosphere was relaxing, and most importantly, the service was top notch. It was a particularly hot day when my friend and I checked in, and while we were registering one of the workers brought us fresh glasses of ice water. It's the little things!! We ended up having several meals at Hotel Azul - the fruit and ice cream waffles were really filling and refreshing. For about $40/night, it's an absolute steal.

I stayed in about 5 hotels during my two week vacation in Nicaragua. Hotel Azul was by far that best - and not even the most expensive.

Location was great too. Just two blocks from the central plaza and cathedral.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi! Thank you so much for your nice review, we hope to see you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We checked in very late, but there was someone at the front desk waiting for us. Although it was the middle of the night, they allowed our local friends to come up and check out the room, which turned out to be so very very tiny... Tiny, but perfect. Everything seemed new and clean. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable and the AC was quiet. We were surprised to have no hot water, to which we are accustomed (it was warm-ish now and then), but it was refreshing compared to the heat outside. We could get wi-fi sitting on the lounge chair just outside the room, but didn't need it very often as we spent most of our time out and about. The restaurant was also excellent, and we ended us eating there every morning before even showering and getting ready to go out! The staff were wonderfully helpful, friendly, and fun. It was the perfect, quiet escape from the heat and noise outside the hotel.
We wished we had extended our stay earlier, but had to move to another hotel in Leon, and the next place was quite literally twice as expensive and half as nice.
Even after returning home, we missed Azul!

Room tip: Room 10 doesn't get very good wi-fi in the room, but has a comfy lounge chair right out front where the signal strength is excellent. 10 also shares a wall with the church next door, which can get a little loud, in case you like to sleep in.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review! We hope to host you once again in Leon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice hotel in a perfect location. The rooms are simple but comfortable and very clean. Bathroom is comfortable and gives you everything you need. Okay no hot water but didnt miss it very much. Very nice pool and the lighting in the evening is very beautifull, brings a nice atmosphere to the place. Staff are very nice and helpfull. Only thing, i always like it when you can have breakfast included, now breakfast is seperate. But that is just a personal preference. Other hotels in Leon seem to be a little bit worn out sometimes so Azul is a top choice in Leon.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your awesome review, and suggestions! We will think about that, and will put special promotions on this website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Azul was perfect for our three day visit in Leon. Great location, like a quiet and cool pause in between sight seeing can walk everywhere. Food is great and affordable, super nice atmosphere, also very helpful setting up a tour on short notice hiking Momotombo. All around highly recommend!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulHotel R, Manager at Azul Hotel & Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review, it is good to read that Azul felt like a cool place to relax in between all the sight seeing you did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews