We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, GA
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It is a pleasant surprise to enter a hotel and find something charmingly different. Spacious rooms and good breakfast. We enjoyed sitting in the open area near the restaurant enjoying the garden and the breeze. Very relaxing setting. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtw30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    136
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
54
145
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just went for dinner on our night out in Leon while visiting Nicaragua. The service and the food was amazing. The hotel is beautiful and very romantic. They have a beautiful building Hacienda style with an amazing garden in the middle. Highly recommend it, specially their steaks!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel looks very nice. This is a facility with top end possibilities but with a minimum price of 90 dollars no pool, poor internet and disappointing breakfast there is a long way to go. The hotel is convenient located in the center of the city. There are very good bars and dinner places within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I have only stayed 1 might at El Convento but would have stayed much longer if it was possible. A truly beautiful property at the right location for tourist activities in this gem of a city.

The restaurant is 4or 5 star with 3 star prices and fabulous service. The rooms, whilst small for 2 people - are OK, with a bath in the room I had. Great after a long day on the road.

Make certain you get a room with a window the can be opened if you value fresh air.

The staff here were helpful,the public areas, including the garden, are immaculate; this is a hotel you'll always remember.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornyhombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel is nice, being in an old convent converted into a hotel with few rooms and ample corridors, but 120 USD in this city where monthly salaries are about 200 USD per month is insane. The owners philosophy is to maintain occupancy at below 20 % but hit extra hard the ocassional customer that will never repeat.

Thanks God now they have competition from an international chain with much more marketing experience that may not offer nice gardens but a good location, clean rooms, cool and silent air contidion and a safety box, . Hope not only BW will come to Leon, but several others as well to provide efficient and reasonably priced acommodations and management will come into their senses and realized that they are not in Mannhathan or the Champs Elysees.

When we checked in I did not ask how many rooms were occupied but the person that took us to our room said that we could chose any room in the hotel but two that were occupied.

So as long as I am concerned I am not cheking in there any tome soosn

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeribertoMeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is just an average hotel with a lot of potential. The gardens are beautiful, the rooms and common areas of the hotel are showing a lot wear. The breakfast is just ok. The front desk clerks spends their day out of site in their air conditioned office. The price charged does not in line with accomodations received.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayletravels4344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, Wa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

No Nica love here. No Nica value.nice grounds. Clean. Actual hot water. From what we have seen in the rest of the country this hotel gave us our least bang for the buck..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaked-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing