We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet hotel”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent 3 days here in December 2012. This is a beautiful, well-maintained hotel with a lovely garden. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant is very good as well.

The staff were very friendly and helped me to organize side trips from Leon and to locate my luggage, which did not arrive with me in Managua.

The hotel is very central, but just far enough from the centre of Leon to provide one with a qiet night's rest.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

The hotel is lovely and has a beautiful courtyard. The coffee served was the best we had in all of Nicaragua! The buffet breakfast in the open courtyard is relaxing and the room is lovely, although it is a bit dark. It seemed to me to be the best hotel we saw in Leon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The hotel is completely charming. It is well decorated, safe, and the staff is attentive. The courtyard is beautiful. The rooms are large, but could use better lighting (especially at the desk) and a couple of comfortable chairs.

The breakfast buffet is just OK, but the ceviche (go for the fish rather than the shrimp) is phenomenal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QUTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It is a pleasant surprise to enter a hotel and find something charmingly different. Spacious rooms and good breakfast. We enjoyed sitting in the open area near the restaurant enjoying the garden and the breeze. Very relaxing setting. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtw30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just went for dinner on our night out in Leon while visiting Nicaragua. The service and the food was amazing. The hotel is beautiful and very romantic. They have a beautiful building Hacienda style with an amazing garden in the middle. Highly recommend it, specially their steaks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel looks very nice. This is a facility with top end possibilities but with a minimum price of 90 dollars no pool, poor internet and disappointing breakfast there is a long way to go. The hotel is convenient located in the center of the city. There are very good bars and dinner places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I have only stayed 1 might at El Convento but would have stayed much longer if it was possible. A truly beautiful property at the right location for tourist activities in this gem of a city.

The restaurant is 4or 5 star with 3 star prices and fabulous service. The rooms, whilst small for 2 people - are OK, with a bath in the room I had. Great after a long day on the road.

Make certain you get a room with a window the can be opened if you value fresh air.

The staff here were helpful,the public areas, including the garden, are immaculate; this is a hotel you'll always remember.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hornyhombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £90 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing