We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating my wedding anniversary”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I was at El Convento 4 years ago together with my wife celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, one thing to mention is the size of the rooms, the nice colonial ambience and of course the good service the people there offered us. The breakfast was very good and the two of us enjoyed it, the cook there is excellent. One thing I would like to have at a hotel like this is a pool, being Leon a city with a hot weather the pool would be a nice idea, of course not inside the beautiful garden but in another area of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisVanegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminconvento, Gerente at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are working in a project to include a pool for the hotel, let`s hope this year we can achieve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent 3 days here in December 2012. This is a beautiful, well-maintained hotel with a lovely garden. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant is very good as well.

The staff were very friendly and helped me to organize side trips from Leon and to locate my luggage, which did not arrive with me in Managua.

The hotel is very central, but just far enough from the centre of Leon to provide one with a qiet night's rest.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The hotel is lovely and has a beautiful courtyard. The coffee served was the best we had in all of Nicaragua! The buffet breakfast in the open courtyard is relaxing and the room is lovely, although it is a bit dark. It seemed to me to be the best hotel we saw in Leon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The hotel is completely charming. It is well decorated, safe, and the staff is attentive. The courtyard is beautiful. The rooms are large, but could use better lighting (especially at the desk) and a couple of comfortable chairs.

The breakfast buffet is just OK, but the ceviche (go for the fish rather than the shrimp) is phenomenal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QUTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It is a pleasant surprise to enter a hotel and find something charmingly different. Spacious rooms and good breakfast. We enjoyed sitting in the open area near the restaurant enjoying the garden and the breeze. Very relaxing setting. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtw30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just went for dinner on our night out in Leon while visiting Nicaragua. The service and the food was amazing. The hotel is beautiful and very romantic. They have a beautiful building Hacienda style with an amazing garden in the middle. Highly recommend it, specially their steaks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel looks very nice. This is a facility with top end possibilities but with a minimum price of 90 dollars no pool, poor internet and disappointing breakfast there is a long way to go. The hotel is convenient located in the center of the city. There are very good bars and dinner places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#9 of 15 in Leon
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £67 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing