We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star of Leon!”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel. It is centrally located and the rooms/decor are perfect. The building is a traditional Spanish colonial, adjacent to a church. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The bedding was comfortable and the rooms sparkling clean. The breakfast was first rate in the morning. Overall, couldn't be happier with my experience and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Is a pleasure for us to know your stay was good at Hotel El Convento,
We hope you visit us soon!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

An excellent experience. A staff very willing to work and meet the requirements. Definitely the proximity to the historic center of Leon makes it special. It hosted a corporate event which saw the flexibility and desire to do things the team.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerFernandezH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Roger

We really appreciate your comments about our service. Every day we try to maintain the same quality for all our guest and this comments show us that we are doing a good job; please be assured that I will share your review with the Executive Team the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

El Convento has a special feeling to it which is obvious as soon as you cross the door. It is very magical. I stayed in the suite which was very spacious and had a huge soft bed. Service was kind and helpful. The patio is beautiful and the pool area very cosy and elegant. Probably the best choice in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estefania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Sir Estefania
Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to visit us in your next trip to Nicaragua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stay here and had a good experience. Bilingual staff was helpful, morning breakfast was a nice buffet with friendly server and nice view, and rooms were over avg. Location is perfect to walk to many nice restaurant and nite-life options.

Room Tip: Get room facing to middle and not toward roads.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you very much for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Lovely converted convent with central garden. Restaurant has both an air-conditioned section and seating outdoors. Only had breakfast there which was ok, nothing special. Our room was large and comfortable but at the back of the hotel facing a parking lot where garbage was picked up so it was quite noisy in the morning. The staff were helpful but a little stand-offish and formal.

Room Tip: Don't face the garbage pick up place.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsilver4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback about your recent stay with us, please be assured that I will share your review with the Executive Team the hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any assistance in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The only hotel to stay in Leon,the beauty of it is in contrast with a very interesting but very busy and severe city.
We were there last year with an inefficient and impolite front desk what a difference this year,charming young women and doormen, room ready when we arrived at 1 pm.
The ground ,the decor and antiques make a stay at this hotel unforgettable.
Rooms are simple but clean ,hot water rare ( but this is Nicaragua) .you could walk everywhere in town from the hotel ,and in Leon you walk as you have to visit all the churches as well as all the murals and symbols of the revolution.
Also a little gem of a museum is the Ortis Fundation next door. A must.
Breakfast ,buffet style is ok ,had lunch and dinner one day food is average,but 2 block away you have the wonderful Meson restaurant ,waiters are very nice but could use a little bit more training!!
Government is spending money on restauring churches and park to their old splendor ,once finish the cathedral will be spectacular.
If you visit Nicaragua the contrast between Granada and Leon is very interesting.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in front ,too noisy. If you can ( may be more money) rooms facing the courtyard. Also c...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I was at El Convento 4 years ago together with my wife celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, one thing to mention is the size of the rooms, the nice colonial ambience and of course the good service the people there offered us. The breakfast was very good and the two of us enjoyed it, the cook there is excellent. One thing I would like to have at a hotel like this is a pool, being Leon a city with a hot weather the pool would be a nice idea, of course not inside the beautiful garden but in another area of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisVanegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminconvento, Gerente at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are working in a project to include a pool for the hotel, let`s hope this year we can achieve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £90 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing