We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old/New World Elegance”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

El Convento is a gorgeous property in the colonial university town of Leon. Entering the hotel from the hot, crumbling sidewalks is to walk into an oasis.
The hotel is an old convent ( no kidding) and built around a lovely and cooling formal garden. the hallways and public rooms are high ceilinged , art filled and lovely. The decor is a combination of current art, religious antiques and first class crafts. All very interesting and inviting. the large public spaces have lovely and comfortable couches, chairs, tables, resting areas and WIFI

Guest rooms are well equipped and simple for the most part. A/c is fine. Bathrooms have plenty of hot water, hair dryers and amenities.

There is a room safe and a flt screen tv - should you want it.

The food is so-so and plentiful. Breakfast is fine with lots of options.

Room Tip: There is a lovely suite in the front and the courtyard rooms may be more quiet than those on the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronnieK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Ronniek

We are appreciative of your kind words regarding your recent stay.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Nidia Urcuyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

nice grounds and fountain although my room faced the street- good security- generally friendly helpful staff- low water pressure and a little less hot water than you would want- one day a breakfast buffet and the other two days they just made up a plate- nice christian artifacts- generally good location next to small museums- pool was under maintenance- a big disappointment in a hot city- relatively pricey

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the fountain- make sure the pool works before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I just got back from Nicaragua early this morning, one of the places we stayed was Hotel El Convento...a former convent. The rooms were very clean, hotel was secure and the staff were friendly....The hotel is in a U-Shape and some of the rooms overlook a beautiful well manicured garden...and peaceful water fountain. This is the perfect place to relax.
the hotel is also located just 2 blocks from out door markets-great place to shop for souvenirs

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octaviasings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest;

We are very happy to read you enjoyed our hotel. All the team strives hard for delivering our guests the best service offered, for that reason we are sure that all your comments will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay with us leon city.

Looking forward to welcome you soon in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel was booked for us through our tour company, Nicaragua Adventures. It was wonderful. The room itslef was big, the bed was comfortable. The porters were very attentive. We even got a welcome drink on arrival. The breakfast was phenomenal!!! The best breakfast we had on our trip. The pool is quiet and secluded. The hotel is central to everything in Leon. It was a wonderful hotel, and we will certainly stay again when we return. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea032809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Is a pleasure for us to know your stay was good at Hotel El Convento,
We hope you visit us soon!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel - a refurbished convent. typical Spanish style. hotel rooms around a beautiful garden. We were a family of 8, ranging from 9 to 89 years. The staff was really terrific,The pool was a bit small but still pleasant. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Martin,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service , always will be motivation to receive such appreciation from our guest.

We really appreciate your comment, we hope to see you soon again in Hotel El Convento.

Best regards

Nidia Urcuyo M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Very nice hotel, Rooms are clean and comfortable. Air conditioner worked perfect, nice flat screen TV’s with many U.S. channels. Free breakfast in the morning with your stay. Good laundry service, upon arrival from airport my clothes were a wriggled mess – turned in all of my clothing and they ironed all of my belongings in 1 hr. Very beautiful courtyard in the center, but no pools that I know of in Leon. Only about 2 or 3 blocks from the center of the town and bar section of the city. Great food also for dinner and ice cold Tona’s to wash it down with. Will most likely say here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Matt H.

We really appreciate your comments about our service
We hope you visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The is a beautiful setting , The restaurant tables are well set out with white tablecloths. The menu is well written. I chose grilled salmon with a touch of Asian sauce. When the small fillet, a tail cut arrived, it was hot at one end and tepid the other, the plate contained a mound of pounded yuca or quiquisque smothered in a commercial sweet and sour sauce. The line cook/chef should go to Barcelo or Sushi Nami in Hollywood Miami,to find out what this dish should taste like. And forget the quequisqui, rice or baby boiled potatoes would be fine. Creative but must try harder.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank chefgeraldManagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#9 of 15 in Leon
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £86 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing