We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in great location!”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Leon. I would have given it five stars but on our last night there I was woken up at 2:00 am by people drunk and loud in a sitting area by my room. There is no way that the security did not hear it. This went on for at least 30 min.... When I told the desk the next morning they were apologetic but it seemed as though they weren't interested in finding out the cause. For the money we paid, I would expect better. And it seemed to me that they were locals and how did they get in???!
Breakfast was great and the grounds were lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

As you arrive to El Convento you may think you made a mistake but as soon as you take your fist steps into the hotel you will find a peaceful paradise. This well maintained and seems the be the best in the area. Though the rooms are no 5 star status they are extremely clean, the floors squeak they are so clean. Make sure you ask for a courtyard room close to the pool, these are more quiet. The staff is great, the location is in walking distance to the Leon Cathedral and most other important sites. Also only 3 block away is one of the best restaurants El Seteo and El Carnevaro. Leon is a very safe City you can walk anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I highly recommend this and will stay at this hotel over and over again! Close to shopping, historical sights, capitol, all within walking distance. The rooms are geared for woman---make up mirrors, Aveda toiletries, robes, slippers, stocked water in fridge, beautiful room and an unbelievable shower!!! We had a king size bed that had 2 out coves - one for sitting and another for dining. They have a wine and appetizer social. I can't say enough how great our room was. Just don't forget the bug spray!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed - one that has 2 outcove windows - one for sitting and another for dining.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 860elaineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

In true Spanish-Mauresque style, El Convento from outside is just an anonymous wall. Anonymity, though, disappeared the moment we stopped the car. Friendly welcome (and the staff was friendly and attentive throughout our stay), a simple but comfortable room furnished in mock Spanish colonial style (white walls, dark furniture, but with some nice splashes of colour) and a fantastic garden that was obvioulsly the cloister of the ancient convent, surrounded by an arcade where the rigour of monastic architecture has been softened by colour and a touch of leftover baroque, again from the days when El Convento belonged to the adjacent Iglesia de San Francisco. The restaurant, El Vitoriano was truly very good, one of the best in our stay in Nicaragua, and possibly the best option in León: good food, well prepared and well presented, attentive service. Given this, the breakfast buffet was surprisingly disappointing (fortunately, we discovered a fantastic bakery not far, Pan y Paz, the best we have found in Nicaragua). The other small hiccup was the fact that the pool was under maintenance: it is a small one, barely more than a plunge-pool, but it would have been a welcome respite from the heat of León. El Convento has a parking area and is 5 minutes walk from the centre of León (the Cathedral and the Parque Central). León turned out to be very attractive, and being able to take refuge from its heat and bustle (we were there during the mid-August festivities of the Asunción, a major event in Nicaragua) in the quiet of El Convento made it all the more so.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mauro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed one nite here on July 11, 2013. I agree with all other postings. I had a room facing the fountain--very tastefully decorated. I also appreciated its location. Close to everything I wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

El Convento is a gorgeous property in the colonial university town of Leon. Entering the hotel from the hot, crumbling sidewalks is to walk into an oasis.
The hotel is an old convent ( no kidding) and built around a lovely and cooling formal garden. the hallways and public rooms are high ceilinged , art filled and lovely. The decor is a combination of current art, religious antiques and first class crafts. All very interesting and inviting. the large public spaces have lovely and comfortable couches, chairs, tables, resting areas and WIFI

Guest rooms are well equipped and simple for the most part. A/c is fine. Bathrooms have plenty of hot water, hair dryers and amenities.

There is a room safe and a flt screen tv - should you want it.

The food is so-so and plentiful. Breakfast is fine with lots of options.

Room Tip: There is a lovely suite in the front and the courtyard rooms may be more quiet than those on the str...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronnieK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Ronniek

We are appreciative of your kind words regarding your recent stay.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Nidia Urcuyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

nice grounds and fountain although my room faced the street- good security- generally friendly helpful staff- low water pressure and a little less hot water than you would want- one day a breakfast buffet and the other two days they just made up a plate- nice christian artifacts- generally good location next to small museums- pool was under maintenance- a big disappointment in a hot city- relatively pricey

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the fountain- make sure the pool works before booking
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £89 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing