We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Hotel In Leon”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful! The only place I stay while in Leon. Converted from an old Convent, unique and beautiful. I highly recommend staying here. This is the second time I have stayed here. The breakfast needs some work... Not enough staff and most of the food was gone, and this was at 7:30 am! Ants all over the bread. I did have lunch and dinner at the restaurant and everything was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your stay.

We value all remarks from our guests and we are pleased to receive your constructive comments; reviews like yours help us to pinpoint the areas where we can take actions to improve and become the first choice for all travelers.

We are glad to know that you liked the service delivered by our staff.

On the other hand, we regret to hear the negative impression you got of our food. Please be sure that we will pass your opinion to our manager in order to take in consideration to make the necessary adjustments.

Our aim is to meet all our guests’ expectations in all the aspects of their stay; we really hope to have another chance to host you at Hotel El Convento

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We had 7pm dinner red but arrived at 430 due to a storm hampering our stroll. Luis seated us and was not only an amazing benefit to the hotel but an even more gracious host. Dinner was on par with Gorgonzola cheese atop a 6oz filet mignon. A red wine reduction sauce atop with blueberries, yes blueberries! Trust me on this!

A side dish blew us away! Goat risotto with once again a few blueberries mixed in. Incredibly complex!!!

Even if you are not staying here, make a reservation!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Photoguyf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service , always will be motivation to receive such appreciation from our guest.

We really appreciate your comment, we hope to see you soon again in Hotel El Convento.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed out.

It is an absolute oasis in a very hot and busy city. The minute you walk in and see the courtyard, and all the art and amazing architecture, you know this is a very special place. It is about a five minute walk to the main city square and there are several really good restaurants in the area.

The staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was more than sufficient, no complaints.

Only negative is a very minor one, weak water pressure in our shower. Other than that, a wonderful stay and heartily recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammer2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. It is good to know that you appreciated the way you were greeted at arrival and enjoyed the services, but I regret hearing about the shortcomings you encountered during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies.

Your feedback is much valued and has been shared with our hotel´s leadership team as it allows us to identify our opportunity areas in order to improve our services. If your travel plans bring you back to Leon City, we hope that you give us the opportunity to demonstrate our service excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is a great place to relax after a hot day of sightseeing in Leon. It is about two blocks from the central plaza and cathedral, and within easy walking distance of the Ruben Dario and Revolution Museums. The rooms are nothing exceptional, but perfectly adequate. The large central courtyard is beautiful, and there are several quiet areas to sit and relax. There is a very small pool off in one corner, with room for about two couples or one family to sit around it, but it wasn't busy when I was there. The restaurant serves a nice breakfast and decent dinners, but there are several very good restaurants only a few blocks from the hotel. It is hard to imagine finding a nicer place to stay in Leon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usakomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your comments about your stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms are average but a very good size and clean. The service leaves quite a lot to be desired but don't let that put you off. It is very much worth the booking!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We hope we can attend you in your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The city of Leon is beautiful, with lots of sights to see, but to me your hotel needs to be an oasis at the end of the day. Hotel El Convento is located easy walking distance from the cathedral, the central plaza, the folks museum, and the revolution museum. It's a safe and busy part of Leon, and the hotel is quiet and peaceful. The hotel surrounds a beautiful courtyard with palm trees and hedgerows perfect for sitting and watching the evening settle in. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. Common areas are clean and comfortable, and the breakfast had a nice selection of eggs, meats, cereal, and the usual juices and coffee. We had dinner several nights here and the food was very good. The menu is a bit limited and the staff slow by US standards, but still very welcoming and accommodating when asked. It may sound petty, but the air conditioning after a long hot day is really nice too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-adventure42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Really appreciate your comments and feedback that was posted and we are glad to know your stay was a delighted experience.

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us, we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had just spent 7 days on a medical mission on the coast of Nicaragua working hard outside everyday in 99 degree heat providing medical care to the local population. Although the work was rewarding we needed some R&R and air condition. Lucky for us we got to stay at the Hotel El Convento. From the moment we arrived and were served sweet ice tea at check in we were in recovery mode. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Our bathroom was well stocked with bottle water, soap, shampoo and lotion. We ate breakfast at the buffet in outside dinning area and it was quite good. A nice selection of pastry, fruit, eggs, meats and cereal. Plus they served juice and coffee or tea. We also ate dinner here for three nights since we were so tired from sightseeing that staying put was welcomed in the evening. The food was good and tasty. I would not say it was exceptional but it was fairly consistently good. There are not alot of offerings but enough for the three nights. The common areas are clean and quite beautiful. I loved the old paintings and furniture and the garden was a delight. We never got to try the pool but did go out to sit there one evening before dinner. We really enjoyed spending some time also before or after dinner just sitting in one of the little side areas outside the courtyard in rocking chairs and reading or working on the computer. The Hotel is close to many sights to see in Leon like the central plaza, cathedral, military museum, Folk museum and the Art Museum. It is also within walking distance to the little French Bakery with the best sandwiches and pastry.
We throughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone visiting Leon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventureseeker4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel El C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. It is good to know that you appreciated the way you were greeted at arrival and enjoyed the services.
The service provided by our staff, is something that our guests truly appreciate and we are glad to know you felt at home with us helped to make your experience even more special.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we look forward to welcome you back many more times in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#9 of 15 in Leon
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £67 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing