We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toss up between El Convento and La Perla”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Spent one night here on a quick trip to discover Nicaragua. Another beautiful property in the heart of Leon. Upon entry, a very impressive courtyard and lobby/altar area. Corridors are decorated with original pieces from the previous life as a convent. All rooms are on one floor. Room was clean, ample size and had many amenities, even a shoe shine kit. Tv had every station to choose from so we were able to stay current with the news on the weather back home and the situation in Egypt. Free wifi worked fine. Beds move away from the wall, so don't lean back on the wall sitting up in bed or you will roll away. Water rationing was in effect in Leon, the hotel informed all the guests that hot water may not be available between 10:00 and 19:00. There is no bar area but drinks are available from the restaurant 24 hours. Complimentary breakfast buffet was a zoo. We met at 07:30, but since most of the tours leave at the same time in the morning, all 31 rooms are scrambling to get breakfast at the same time. Ours was inundated by a group of French who gobbled up everything in sight and used their fingers as serving utensils . Food quickly ran out, no more eggs, no yogurt, no butter. Did not have time to wait for more, so not impressed that the hotel did not plan better. Staff was not as quick to speak or interact with the guests as La Perla, but pleasant nonetheless. I was looking for ice, having ice bucket in hand. Security guard noticed and within minutes, a chef and a maid were both looking for me to ensure ice would be delivered. Allow extra time to check out, everything is at a much slower pace here. A very nice stay in a beautiful property.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerobik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

When I visit Leon, I always stay at El Convento. I was there again the past weekend, while the city of Leon was having problems with the water supply, fortunately the Hotel had a backup water tank and they informed us of the rationing schedule so we were able to adjust to it just fine.

Every time I've stayed there, the service has been consistent: friendly staff, clean rooms, great food and beautiful and well kept grounds. One important thing to mention if you are a fan of sustainability: the owners, who are also nicaraguan and from Leon; have invested so much in culture, education and health through their foundation (Fundacion Ortiz Gurdian - they have a museum in Leon with free entrance to Nicaraguan students, donate computers regularly to public schools in the area and contribute to a program to fight breast cancer in Nicaragua).

I usually travel on a budget, but when in Leon I allow myself to splurge a little and stay at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerenciaHPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

When we walked in a waiter arrived rather promptly with some freshly squeezed juices to welcome us. Rooms were very comfortable. Dark with one small window. The shower was hopeless! It dribbled out. That was the only negative about our stay. Very charming and pleasant hotel on the whole.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hbockweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I'd recommend El Convento to others. I had a great experience at this hotel. This was my first time in Nicaragua. My husbands family is from Leon so we decided to visit so that I could meet them and our 3 year old would get to know his family. The staff at El Convento were extremely helpful and pleasant. The pictures that are posted for this hotel do not show the true beauty of this place. Being there i got the feeling that i was elsewhere. The atmosphere didn't feel like it was a hotel. El Convento is walking distance to basically all your needs. We walked everywhere in the city and the people are friendly. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jramos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This beautiful hotel which actually was converted in 2000 from a convent originally built in the 17th Century. The building is super clean and decorated with antiques from the days of the convent, the garden with lush bougainvillea and palms is lovely and the rooms are first rate. As for location, it can't be beaten.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tac123fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Normally very expensive, but we got an incredible last minute deal! the hotel is just beautiful in every way. Super clean rooms with Aveda products and a lovely splash pool and lounge area. there is a happy hour from 5-7 with a nice selection of not cheap wines and cheeses. Can't wait for my next stay! The only downside was the food wasn't great in the tapas restaurant and the bartender was not friendly. The pizza joint was fantastic and our waitress was the best.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

No doubt a historically significant and beautiful example of Colonial Spanish architecture. Lovely courtyard and nice rooms. However, electricity is expensive in Nica
and is actually priced higher for commercial operations depending on location. Overly apparent that management has given the word on turning off lights and fans. Even courtyard fountain pump is cut off after breakfast. Vacant room doors are opened during
day light hours to provide some light to interior hallways and they are still too dark.
A 16th century building does not require 16th century lighting.

An energy tip: Cease with the large electric tile floor buffer and the dry scottbite wash pad - - it's only spreading the dust around and wasting significant electricity.

Worth the trip but take a latern.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltimoGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £90 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing