We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for the price”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
CONNEAUT
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great hotel for the price”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I go to Leon, Nicaragua about every 2 years and I have been in many of the hotels in that city. Now, every time I go, I stay in Hotel Austria for the price is an excellent hotel, centrally located, clean, staff very nice, friendly and helpful, safe, guarded garage, good wireless internet, food average. The only draw back a little noisy because located in a busy street. This hotel is hard to beat

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudioJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    41
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
26
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Room was very clean and the air conditioning worked great. Staff was nice and friendly. Breakfast was just okay and would like to have seen more variety. Our first day had a very noisy neighbor and the walls were very thin. Good thing he was only there one night. Location was great as it was in the center of the city. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here for 5 days while we were on a medical mission The rooms are very clean and so are the bathrooms! I loved how close the hotel was to the hospital and the rest of the town. We ended up walking everywhere during our stay.

The restaurant is pretty good and the front desk staff are very nice. We had a great stay here. The only down side was that there was no swimming pool. However, everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

2 blocks from the center of Leon, H A is in a great location. Breakfast average, staff great, security great, room clean







a

Room Tip: Go to the roof of the Cathedral for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel Austria is a simple, clean hotel very near the central square in Leon. The owner is really hands-on and is everywhere to be seen. The breakfast is very good, with several menus and the restaurant staff are very efficient and friendly. There is an attractive internal tropical garden. I would recommend this hotel for its great location and efficiency.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orosi
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

To be perfectly frank, I had a few other Hotel choices in mind when we arrived in Leon based on rates. The Taxista did not know where these hotels were so when we passed Hotel Austria I said stop and we'll just stay one night here and find the others tomorrow. Well, one night turned into three ! Here's why: professional looking and responsive staff, Doorman to keep out the riff-raff, clean stem to stern, quality furniture (no particle board glued together crap here), Breakfast included, one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, hot water (this is Nicaragua and hot water is virtually non-existent) and location. If you're visiting Leon, this is an excellent choice for your vacation Headquarters.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helaconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
America, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed here for a little over a week this past March. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and ideally located just about a one block away from the Central Park. The staff is very helpful and caring. I had injured my eye prior to arrival and they located an excellent ophthalmologist, got me in to see him right away and even drove me to his office. The restaurant has very good food. Especially the fried chicken! My room (bottom floor facing the garden) had air conditioning, small refrigerator, cable tv and hot water. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: De la catedral 1 cuadra al sur | From the Cathedral 1 block south, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block from the center and from the beautiful cathedral of the colonial city of Leon is located the Hotel Austria. This hotel with 35 rooms opened its doors in May of 1998, for its location is ideal for tourists who visit Leon to admire its churches and colonial buildings or who like to visit Poneloya, the beach of Leon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing