We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Leon
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I just can’t thank the hotel staff enough! Everybody at the reception desk were so endlessly patient, friendly and helpful. I asked numerous questions and always received the response I was looking for, whether it was recommendation for a restaurant, drawing directions on a map, suggestion on how to arrange volcano boarding tour, or money exchange. Indeed it was an exceptional customer service experience.

My room was pretty and spotless. Breakfast included – more than sufficient (there are several types of breakfast offered, including Nicaraguan, with delicious rice and beans), restaurant service has been always impeccable. Wi-Fi was almost uninterrupted everywhere in the hotel, including a room itself.

The hotel is very close to the gorgeous Cathedral, many restaurants and bars, little artisanal street market and Kaman art gallery. Everything is quite close in Leon, but if you get tired or get lost exploring its pretty streets, you can be sure that within 30 sec. you will see a taxi that will get you anywhere in the city for 20 cordobas (less than one dollar).

I can definitely and responsibly recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for nice safe stay in Leon.

Room Tip: If i knew, i would ask for a room on a second level as there was a pretty bench outside where i coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYAnatolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    41
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
26
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We had a great time in Leon. Lots to see and do in the area. The hotel itself is basic but has everything you need (air cond, hot water, wifi) and is very secure. The staff were helpful in organizing a tour to cerro negro and getting transport for a day trip to penitas. The breakfast here was the least inspiring of all the places we stayed in Nicaragua, but included. $65 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey_A_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Hotel Austria was the first place I stayed when visiting Leon, Nicaragua. That was 12 years ago. Now I own a place on the beach, but I still return because of the fond memories of the first visit. The rooms are very nice and clean. The restaurant in the hotel is exceptionally good and fairly priced. Peter the owner will help you with all your needs. I still come back to have breakfast,lunch, an Dinner when in Leon.

Room Tip: I checked swimming pool by mistake. When I stayed there was no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I recently traveled here with my family and stayed a couple of nights. The hotel is very clean and very well maintained. The rooms are cleaned daily and the staff was very helpful when needed. The food in the restaurant is excellent, especially the Nicaraguan breakfast, and the there is never a long wait to receive your order. I highly recommend this Hotel when visiting Leon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoMJUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We took our group to this hotel for a nine-night stay. Everything about it was great. Starting with the easy reservation (online), the prompt response and the great front desk staff. The service in the restaurant was always quick and the food was good with good portions. The rooms were very clean and we always felt safe and secure. The car was safely guarded in the secure parking area. We didn't find anything negative about our experience. Don't be surprised when you take a look at the web site (and the menu;s in the restaurant) and find them in English, Spanish and German. The location is very near the central square. A large hospital is next door, so we worried a little about traffic and noise, but it turned out to be no issue at all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large enough to be comfortable. The "family" room can accommodate 4 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONNEAUT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I go to Leon, Nicaragua about every 2 years and I have been in many of the hotels in that city. Now, every time I go, I stay in Hotel Austria for the price is an excellent hotel, centrally located, clean, staff very nice, friendly and helpful, safe, guarded garage, good wireless internet, food average. The only draw back a little noisy because located in a busy street. This hotel is hard to beat

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudioJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Room was very clean and the air conditioning worked great. Staff was nice and friendly. Breakfast was just okay and would like to have seen more variety. Our first day had a very noisy neighbor and the walls were very thin. Good thing he was only there one night. Location was great as it was in the center of the city. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#8 of 15 in Leon
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: De la catedral 1 cuadra al sur | From the Cathedral 1 block south, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block from the center and from the beautiful cathedral of the colonial city of Leon is located the Hotel Austria. This hotel with 35 rooms opened its doors in May of 1998, for its location is ideal for tourists who visit Leon to admire its churches and colonial buildings or who like to visit Poneloya, the beach of Leon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing