We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Dona Blanca
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
24
24
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
24
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watergreat locationcentral courtyardfancathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The courtyard is beautiful, and we were served a lovely simple breakfast there (fruits and toast with marmalade). It is also well located, and reasonably priced. I have to confess I found our bare, functional room rather depressing though.

We had TV with lots of channels, private bathroom with shower, and a comfortable double bed, aircon and safe. I think it was about $30-40 for the night. Not luxury, but good for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trips1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We spent our first 2 nights in Nicaragua here and really enjoyed ourselves. There is not much English spoken, but it was not a big problem as long as you can speak a little. Hand signals go a long way. The girl who helped and served breakfast was a real sweetheart. Always pleasant and VERY hardworking. Went out of her way to help. Great location...3 blocks from the main square. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed at Posada Dona Blanca for 4 nights during Christmas. Since we arrived on Christmas Eve, the hotel was quiet. We had a four wheel Toyota Land Cruiser that we were directed to pull into the lobby at night. It was a first to park a vehicle in the lobby of a hotel! The city of Leon was in a celebratory mood for the the entire four days, but our room was quiet, comfortable and very clean. There was abundant hot water and air conditioning; it was 85 - 90 F during our stay. The room also had cable TV in English and Spanish. It is an aged house that served as a family home before becoming a hotel. There is a beautiful courtyard in the center with tropical flowers and trees. A breakfast of fruit and toast was served every morning and included in the cost of the room. You could sit as long as you wanted at breakfast with endless cups of Nicaraguan coffee. We were directed to good restaurants in Leon for lunch and dinner. The gates of the hotel are locked 24 hours a day, and staff is always there to let you in when you ring the bell. You can walk to the plaza, the catedral, shopping at the street market and tiendas. The Posada is also within walking distance of the Leones baseball stadium.
The staff at Posada Dona Blanca were most helpful when we went to the beach at Poneleya for Christmas Day and our truck was broken into and our backpack was stolen. They directed us to the Policia Nacional and called a locksmith to open the glove box that the thieves had demolished. The incident was a small one that could have happened anywhere. Eight vehicles parked near us were also broken into. The important part was that the Nicas were helpful and the Posada Dona Blanca staff went out of their way for us during the holiday.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who likes a simple and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Great location, wonderful staff, fine value. The staff was friendly and more than willing to correct my Spanish. We all had a good laugh. Our room was spotless. Though nothing fancy, it was quiet and welcoming after a long bus ride. Breakfast was fine, set in a pretty courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalaloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

A real nice paradise in the midst of the city. Walking distance to many sights and markets. Great neighborhood. Less than $2 taxi ride from main bus terminal. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was great and the staff was very attentive. The owner goes out of her way to make sure that your stay in wonderful. Tour company right next door. Took a city tour and was very impressed with the guides knowledge and compassion.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islasenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews