We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel in center of town, and great price. (no english!)”
Review of Posada Dona Blanca

Posada Dona Blanca
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Dona Blanca
Ranked #24 of 36 Leon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2012

While in Leon, I decided to change hotels last minute. I did some research and then walked around to a few different hotels to get some prices. I was offered a room for about $26 for one night since I was solo. I actually had a friend come and stay with me since I got such a big room (with 3 beds) and it ended up being $33 for the night for the two of us. We thought that breakfast was included with this rate, but after waiting about 20 mintues in the morning the girl told us it wasn't included. This was fine since we had really wanted to go back to the restaurant desayuno around the corner. It would have been nice if she had told us right away though.

We found the hotel to be very secure. They have to open the main gate for you and give you the key to your room, so they control everyone who goes in and out. The inside courtyard is very nice and lush with a few seating areas. Our room was further back and had three beds in it and a very large bathroom. It also had cable tv a fan, and air conditioning, which we didn't need to use. I'm pretty sure we were in room number 4, the rose room which was in the back corner. Being so far back, You didn't hear much of the street noise (which is constant.) The hotel is located about two blocks away from the main square so it is convenient to everything.

When we had arrived they said they weren't sure if the room they promised us the day before would actually be avaliable, but we waited a few hours and the person staying there ended up leaving and we got the room we wanted. They offered us a different room in the hotel, but it seemed musty and not as nice. Be advised that none of the ladies speak any english. I am fairly fluent in spanish and found it especially difficult to communicate with the young girl who took care of most things. You can definitely get by without knowing spanish, but it may be a bit of a struggle. Overall, they were all very helpful and nice. I really enjoyed staying here, especially since it was so inexpensive.

Room Tip: The room up the stairs in the front is a bit musty and dated compared to the other rooms. It also i...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivelapuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Posada Dona Blanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

Nice clean place. NO English, so learn some Spanish.
Had to park the car inside lobby (for safety); small car and steep climb from road into lobby meant small scrape on bottom of car but no harm done. Close to the center of the town; walking distance and safe. They charge $10 extra for air conditioning; I suppose electricity is expensive in Nicaragua. Had trouble running credit card through, but it worked eventually.
Overall, nice, reasonably priced, and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The courtyard is beautiful, and we were served a lovely simple breakfast there (fruits and toast with marmalade). It is also well located, and reasonably priced. I have to confess I found our bare, functional room rather depressing though.

We had TV with lots of channels, private bathroom with shower, and a comfortable double bed, aircon and safe. I think it was about $30-40 for the night. Not luxury, but good for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trips1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We spent our first 2 nights in Nicaragua here and really enjoyed ourselves. There is not much English spoken, but it was not a big problem as long as you can speak a little. Hand signals go a long way. The girl who helped and served breakfast was a real sweetheart. Always pleasant and VERY hardworking. Went out of her way to help. Great location...3 blocks from the main square. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed at Posada Dona Blanca for 4 nights during Christmas. Since we arrived on Christmas Eve, the hotel was quiet. We had a four wheel Toyota Land Cruiser that we were directed to pull into the lobby at night. It was a first to park a vehicle in the lobby of a hotel! The city of Leon was in a celebratory mood for the the entire four days, but our room was quiet, comfortable and very clean. There was abundant hot water and air conditioning; it was 85 - 90 F during our stay. The room also had cable TV in English and Spanish. It is an aged house that served as a family home before becoming a hotel. There is a beautiful courtyard in the center with tropical flowers and trees. A breakfast of fruit and toast was served every morning and included in the cost of the room. You could sit as long as you wanted at breakfast with endless cups of Nicaraguan coffee. We were directed to good restaurants in Leon for lunch and dinner. The gates of the hotel are locked 24 hours a day, and staff is always there to let you in when you ring the bell. You can walk to the plaza, the catedral, shopping at the street market and tiendas. The Posada is also within walking distance of the Leones baseball stadium.
The staff at Posada Dona Blanca were most helpful when we went to the beach at Poneleya for Christmas Day and our truck was broken into and our backpack was stolen. They directed us to the Policia Nacional and called a locksmith to open the glove box that the thieves had demolished. The incident was a small one that could have happened anywhere. Eight vehicles parked near us were also broken into. The important part was that the Nicas were helpful and the Posada Dona Blanca staff went out of their way for us during the holiday.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who likes a simple and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Great location, wonderful staff, fine value. The staff was friendly and more than willing to correct my Spanish. We all had a good laugh. Our room was spotless. Though nothing fancy, it was quiet and welcoming after a long bus ride. Breakfast was fine, set in a pretty courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalaloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

A real nice paradise in the midst of the city. Walking distance to many sights and markets. Great neighborhood. Less than $2 taxi ride from main bus terminal. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was great and the staff was very attentive. The owner goes out of her way to make sure that your stay in wonderful. Tour company right next door. Took a city tour and was very impressed with the guides knowledge and compassion.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islasenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Dona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Dona Blanca

Address: De la Iglesia La Merced 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range: £33 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the experience of staying in a typical colonial Leon home, surrounded by lush landscaping and long terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Dona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing