We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perla Gates”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We still dream about the relaxing breakfasts sitting in the open court yard with the fountains and palm trees swaying in the fresh breeze drinking the freshly roasted coffee grown specially for the hotel. We spent four nights at La Perla over christmas holiday. It was amazing coming back to our airconditioned room after the days hot adventures. The pool was perfect to wake up next to and take a little swim before breakfast and to end our day in with a cold drink from the bar. The location was ideal for the amazing Christmas festivities that where happening just down the street in the town center. Minutes to great restuarants if you want to venture out, or a 20 minute crusie to the beach. The staff aranged several day adventures for us, including Volcano Boarding, which was beautiful and exciting.The staff was very accommodating, there when you needed them and out of sight when you didn't. The hotel itself is beautiful and exclusive feeling with it's large stone and hard wood features. The Casino across the street was a special treat to hit up after a fun night on the town. Thanks The Perla, wish we where still sitting next to the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool where great. We heard the upstairs room where also good.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for La Perla Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Spent two nights at La Perla in Leon in December, just before Christmas. Hotel staff were helpful, room was a nice size and clean. My room was on the 2nd floor and opened up onto the balcony overlooking a lovely courtyard and the restaurant.

Unfortunately, I did not have hot water either morning for the shower, but this isn't a biggie, it is Nica afterall and maybe I was just unlucky. I didn't complain as it wasn't freezing, so I was able to shower.

Included breakfast was great, bar was always empty while I was there, but the owner and his beautifuld dog Blue kept me company the one evening I spent an hour in the bar.

I opted for a hotel transfer to San Juan del Sur to save time, it was $100USD, but for a comfortable 3.5 hour drive on a hot day in a clean, new air conditioned van, it was worth it.

I recommend at least a quick look at the casino across the road.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYZ_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We spent four days in the best hotel of the city which was about 100 meters from the main square. The check-in was fast, the staff was kind and helpful all the time. The room was clean and well equipped, had air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV. The breakfast was from half past six and as far as I remember I could chose from four kind of menu, but I got what I wanted. Internet using is free. There is a small pool which was clean. But I missed the sun loungers. There were just chairs.
There is a travel agency about 50 meters from the hotel. They organize trips everywhere you want to go. They are very cheap. Don't miss to visit to Leon Viejo which is very interesting and you can see the national bird and there is a marvellous view of the Momotombo volcan. As well as don't miss to climb the Cerro Negro volcan (it is just an hour to get the top) and slide down at the slope on a board. It is very big experience and safe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arakanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I arrived in Leon after booking a room here online. Despite having received a confirmation email from them with complete information and reservation number, they told me they had no record of my reservation and there were no available rooms. I was simply turned out on the street in the midday heat after a long journey, completely exhausted and dragging my luggage to the nearby (and not nearly as nice) hotels they suggested.

I strongly recommend confirming your reservation by phone before arriving, as clearly the email doesn't mean anything. Better yet, just avoid the incompetence and book elsewhere.

(Obviously I can't really rate the rooms, but I don't think I can leave it blank. The lobby seemed clean enough!)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We own a hotel in Mechapa and occasionally have to overnight in Leon for various reasons. We really like this hotel. Clean, neat, pretty, good location with super parking. The casino is an added bonus. We haven't had the opportunity to eat there yet so we can't review the food but there's no indication that it would not be good. Our last trip there was with friends and family on the way to the airport in Managua.

Room Tip: We like the pool-side rooms, but have never stayed on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedwoodBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I booked for three nights but due a mix up with my reservation and a wedding party only stayed two. I would recommend double checking the confirmation they send you to ensure they booked the right number of nights you asked for!

Apart from that, everything was great. A super clean and comfy van picked me and another guest up at the Managua Airport for $65 and took me back to another hotel in Managua for the same price. I confirmed the day before that they would pick me up and was surprised when I called that the receptionist knew my name and flight arrival times off the top of his head-- was impressed!

As others have said, the hotel is in a converted colonial building and very stately but modern. Rooms are small but cozy. My room was near the pool and I would recommend you not stay there. It's great if you get quiet guests as the two rooms near the pool are in a separate area of the hotel and you feel as if you have the pool right outside your door to yourself. The problem is that if there is a large party, they all congregate by the pool and you will hear everything from your room. It's even worse if you get party animals splashing around and sipping drinks in the pool past midnight.

Food is okay but not exceptional. Breakfast (included in the room price) service is fast and lunch can be fast if you ask, but if you need food outside main meal times, expect a very long wait.

Wifi is very fast and you can access it from your room and the rest of the hotel property. Laundry service is fast and efficient.

As other guests have noted staff are fanstastic. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the pool as they can be noisy if there is a group.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have been sailing along the Central American coast and recently stopped at Marina Puesta del Sol in northern Nicaragua. We wanted to visit Leon and contacted Hotel La Perla. The hotel sent a van out to pick us up and after staying at the hotel for a couple of days took us back to the marina. The staff at the hotel was very helpful, the hotel was very comfortable, and the food was as good as any we have had in Central America. La Perla helped us to see not only Leon but some of the Nicaraguan countryside. We would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £64 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing