We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem in Leon”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Leon is a much more working class town. The tourista venues are limited to churches and X-Anastaia Somosa era torture chambers. Interesting to be sure, but not strictly leisure activities. The Hotel La Perla is a converted Colonial house lovingly restored by the Peterson Family of the USA. I met James at the bar, after checking in, and we immediately hit it off. He lived in Minneapolis for many years, where we live, and had a natural kinship and affinity right away.

We ate at the hotel, James served a nice red and white wine from Argentina and we talked with him extensively during our two day stay. He owns and operates a casino across the street. We did not venture inside, as gambling is not our thing, but it appeared prestigious and well attended by others. James knew the owners of the Redwood Beach Resort in Machapa, where we were considering going next, and made a call to secure our accommodations immediately. He was great, insightful and charming. We enjoyed him and his facilities immensely and we sad to bid him goodbye.

James Rickson

Room Tip: Try to get your room to overlook the enclosed terrace area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrickson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

James,
Thank you for your comment..both James I enjoyed serving you.
Sincerely
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I were in Nicaragua to visit my son in the Peace Corps. He had suggested that we stay here and he was right on. It was close to everything, had. Casino, great breakfast (and I bet dinner, but we never ate there), the staff was very attentive and made great suggestions for dinner. There was a pool and plenty of space to have our visits. I would definitely sty again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadaboutdowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Very nice colonial style hotel in the old centre of Leon surrounded by the churches, bars and small shops. "Artesanía" shops are in close proximity. The hotel architecture is beautiful and the facilities are well maintained, although some rooms have got a little patina. Breakfast was good as well as the service at the bar.

Room Tip: Check room first before check in. Probably decide for a room looking to the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel because they offered transfer service from the airport in Managua to Leon. They were right on time to pick us up and allowed us to stop and take pictures of volcanoes along the way. Hotel La Perla is a beautiful building and they have a nice small swimming pool that was near our room. The hotel is centrally located so it was nice being able to walk to our destinations. The only negative about this hotel it seems really overpriced for Nicaragua. I would expect to pay that much in the U.S. for the same hotel but not in Nicaragua. Next time I would look for another hotel unless the La Perla dropped their prices to fit the norm for Leon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your comments.
We have the lowest price for a four star hotel ( rated by the government) for Leon.
We constantly review pricing..for your information, Nicaragua has the highest electrical costs in the Americas...approximately 7 times the rate in the USA.
Sincerely,
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We were staying in this Hotel in March for 2 nights and overall it is a very nice hotel with extremly friendly and helpful staff. They even organized a birthday cake for my girlfriend, which was really great.
The room was clean, but unfortunately without a window and a little bit noisy by directed to the street. I was expecting for this price (100 USD per night) which is much money in Nica a little Bit better standard.
Overall I can recommend the hotel, because the staff is just great and the hotel very central located in Leon

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just spent 2 nights in Leon and we were very comfortable at La Perla. The room next to the pool was a good size, very clean, and cool. Staff were very attentive and we enjoyed great conversation with the Manager. Breakfast was very good. The location is perfect for exploring the city on foot for 2 days. Good value.

Room Tip: The inner courtyard next to the pool was cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I just returned from a trip to Nicaragua and stayed at La Perla for 2 nights. Overall, my experience was very positive. The general manager is excellent. Dinner in their restaurant was very good. I suggest that they add some fresh fruit to their breakfast. Also, the price should be around $80; I think the hotel is a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 353Doug353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#8 of 15 in Leon
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 Cuadra Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £63 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing