We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best hotel in Leon”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
“Definitely the best hotel in Leon”
Reviewed 30 July 2008

HOTEL REVIEW #150

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Perfect. 1.5 blocks from the main square and walking distance to all restaurants and sites.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Hotel car will pick you up for $50 USD in a brand new shuttle.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

Presidential Suite.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is very comfortable and linens are of high quality. Pillows is perfectly thin but not down.

LIGHTING: Excellent lighting in both bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom is on the small side, especially for a Presidential suite. Shower has weak water pressure but can be made consistently hot if desired.

TOILETRIES: Fine, but nothing special.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is very new and everything is very clean.

A/C: Quickly and quietly would get the room cool.

CLOSET SPACE: A bit small for 2 people to unpack most items.

STYLE OF ROOM: Charming. Excellent antique style furnishing. The Presidential suite is really just a larger room that the others. There is only one room and a bathroom. There is no living room or couch. I think that calling this room just a suite may even be too much when comparing to other hotel suites.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: There is traffic noise from the street but I assume that nearly all hotels it town have the same issue. The curtains are too see through to block all of the morning sunlight. A major downside is that the curtains can not be opened. The only way to let in the natural light or see outside would be to open the doors (with the windows in them). Not good if you want to see outside and have natural light but still want to use the A/C.

FOOD: Breakfast consists of eggs, rice & beans, and pancakes. There is also of choice of fresh OJ, fruit juice, and/or coffee. Only had pancakes which were good but nothing special. Breakfast was included with the room. I had dinner two nights which ranged from mediocre to good.

TV/INTERNET: TV is flat screen but a bit too small for the size of the room. There are about 30 channels with about 1/3 in English. Internet is wireless only and at no cost. Average speed.

SERVICE: Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Not all speak English but there seems to be at least 1 or 2 on staff at all times that speak English very well.

SUMMARY: I checked out the only other contender for the best hotel in Leon (El Convento) and I prefer the style and atmosphere of La Perla. La Perla is an excellent, comfortable place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Beautiful common area
  • Disliked — Weak water pressure in shower
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    70
    49
    11
    8
See reviews for
47
128
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

As other reviewers already mentioned, this is a fabulous small size hotel with free covered parking across the road. It is slated to be a casino, as well, in the future, however, as of today, it is simply a wonderfully nice hotel with restaurant/bar. My husband and I stayed for several nights soon after a Pacific storm hit Nicaragua. Apparently, that storm disabled the hotel's wireless internet which was always going to be 'fixed' the "next day," but for our duration, it was never repaired. The lobby staff did have access to the internet which was frustrating to see, knowing that we had to go to various internet cafes to access, however, that was a minor inconvenience.

With regard to comparing El Convento Hotel to La Perla Hotel, although the room we stayed in was larger, far larger than the room we stayed in at the La Perla, we moved to La Perla after spending the night and again, finding that the wireless internet was only accessible from near El Convento's restaurant, plus the amenities paled to La Perla. La Perla has a wonderful small pool, beautiful new rooms with gorgeous bathrooms with granite countertops, plush towels (not the shredded, grayed towels we had in El Convento) and the cleanliness of the La Perla Hotel was far, far superior than El Convento's. La Perla was the one and only hotel over the course of 2 weeks that we stayed in that had carpeting. The La Perla Hotel’s restaurant is quite inexpensive, and you are never rushed nor mixed in with large wedding parties and such, as in El Convento Hotel’s restaurant. Just beware of the extra tips included in your restaurant bill - a "Tip A and Tip B" absolutely requested tip for the chef and other, plus the additional actual server! This was the only hotel restaurant which had a 3 tip requirement! A delicious breakfast is included, robes, TV in the armoire, quiet modern room air-conditioners, ceiling fan, halogen lighting, toiletries, daily housekeeping, small refrig, in room safe, phone, hair dryer, and theoretically, Wi-Fi Internet! If I were to return to Leon, I would definitely stay at La Perla Hotel with its own lovely courtyard and quiet charm.

  • Liked — Nice clean rooms, great A/C, pool, super location - walk to all churches, etc.,
  • Disliked — Excessive tips required by hotel restaurant, no extra chair in room, just the bed alone to sit on.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft.lauderdale,florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

La Perla was one of the nicest,cleanest, most beautiful hotels that I've ever stayed at.
The location is fantastic,the staff was wonderful, the rooms beautiful and spacious and immaculate.
I would highly reccomend this hotel.
We totally enjoyed our stay there. The meals were great too!!
You won't be sorry with this choice for your stay in Leon.

  • Liked — it's beauty,cleanliness,staff,location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debbie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2008

We have just returned from a twelve day stay at the Hotel La Perla. The hotel is magnificent it is over 150 years old. The new Owners Jim and Mark have done an outstanding job of renovation, keeping the old craftsmen’s work intact. I felt extremely pampered. I got to the point of not saying anything because as soon as I mentioned anything that I wanted it was done. Our purpose of being there was to look at property. My original intention was to move to a hotel at the beach after a day or two in Leon. This did not happen as we were so comfortable at the Hotel La Perla we decided we did not want to leave. The bar is a very relaxing place to enjoy your evening cocktail and if you wish you can eat there. The food was very good prepared by Chef Michael. Michael would come out personally to see if our dinners were prepared as we had requested. The entire staff was very attentive. This is a trickle down from the top. Jim Peterson one of the owners is in attendance every day starting around 5:30 am seeing that his staff is operating up to his standards. Jim will personally arrive at your table to make sure that you’re completely satisfied. He may also join your for a libation if you were to ask after 5:00 PM of course :)

After a day out looking at property we couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel. I would be remiss if I did not mention Valeska Granera. Valeska is Jim’s right arm. She supervises all aspect of running the hotel. On top of that Vileska took the time to explain to a couple of novices about the different artifacts we asked about that are on display in the hotel. Valeska also made arrangements for us to be picked up at the airport in Managua. Arriving in a foreign country, a strange city after dark can be a bit daunting for this person, so was very pleased that our pick up and delivery to the hotel went off with out a hitch.

I fully except to return to the Hotel La Perla in the not to distance future.

Jerry L Clark
Gig Harbor, WA.

  • Liked — It was a great place in all aspects.
  • Disliked — Every morning at 7:00 the local siren goes off. Nothing to do with the hotel.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jerrwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

The Hotel La Perla Leon is located perfectly in the center of Leon we did stay for 2 nights in room 6B and here is what we found:

Well it is difficult to say who comes first, La Perla Hotel or the Hotel Le Convento honestly not very easy; however we finally did both agree on the fact that La Perla should be placed number one and Le Convention number 2nd.

The hotel is beautifully renovated and did not lose one inch of its original design and glory; the owners are form the USA and for as much as we can say are doing a super job in keeping this place up and running on the highest possible standards.

Check in/out was perfect, and both the Front desk as well as the Bell boys does know the job very well. The Room rates in respect to the quality, standard and size are very reasonable; you will have Internet access in all areas of the hotel.

The Guest rooms are very well decorated, larger then in Le Convento (that was finally the reason why we place this hotel as number ONE), small flat TV, safety box air-condition and all needed amenities of a 5 star hotel and not noisy at all.

There is a small pool area, small garden area; next to the Hotel Lobby is the Hotel Bar and the Hotel Restaurant both in very good condition. The service was at all times very good, friendly quite well in English and with a smile on the face. Again like in all other places we have been, the Food presentation and quality was outstanding and hard to beat by any other country we have been in Central America.

If you are for a few days in Leon you may like to try both properties, in any case which ever one you may use you will find both extremely nice and well managed. Keeping in mind this is a 4 star hotel (should be 5 star) the price value is perfect and on the very low end.

  • Liked — Location as well as Hotel Quality
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetroterAmericas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

La Perla was a memorable highlight of our first visit to Nicaragua. The hotel is an oasis of elegance and charm in the heart of picturesque Leon, the country's poetic center. I would put it in a class with the finer boutique hotels in the U.S. and Europe, at a fraction of the cost. We were pampered throughout our 4-night stay by the courteous, attentive staff. The property was recently restored to its colonial grandeur and tastefully appointed with indigenous antiques, outstanding Central American art and guest room furnishings of high quality and comfort. The hotel dining room is first-rate as well. One evening we feasted on succulent camarones (served with the heads on) and grilled fish (snook I believe) beautifully prepared with peppercorns and capers. For dessert, the creamy tiramisu was delicate and delicious. In short, we fell in love with La Perla and will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craigson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

La Perla is a beautifully reconstructed mansion several blocks from Leon's main plaza. The place had only been open a couple of months when I arrived, and only one other room was occupied. Staff are very friendly, and service is excellent. I had a hearty Nicaraguan breakfast each morning in the lovely courtyard. My room was pretty small, especially for the price, but maybe some of the others are bigger.

Leon isn't a tourist town, especially compared to much more popular Granada, but there are a lot of beautiful churches and other buildings to see, and the atmosphere is low-key and very enjoyable. Not a lot of restaurants or cafes, but La Perla staff can make good recommendations. They picked me up at the Managua airport, which is at least an hour and a half from Leon, and took me back to Managua at the end of my stay -- $100 for the roundtrip, which seemed fair.

  • Liked — Beautiful public spaces, super-friendly staff
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Apple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Property: La Perla Hotel
Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing