We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Leon”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent hotel in Leon. Bright, spacious rooms, friendly staff, large bathrooms and fast wifi. The breakfast featured fresh fruit and the central courtyard was sunny and inviting. We had a kingsized bed and good air conditioning. The hotel is in a central downtown location and most everything you want is just a short walk away. We loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at La Perla for two nights in October 2013. The hotel was very clean, the manager was very nice, they offered us a refresco upon arrival and check in. We stayed on the second floor in a room adjacent to the back veranda. It was very quiet. I don't know if a street-facing room would be as quiet as the street is fairly busy. Our room was clean and comfortable with a mini-fridge and good shower. The hotel's location is right in the center of town so it was easy to get around. No complaints! We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us. It was a shame the art museum was closed. I enjoyed visiting with you and hope that you return to Nicaragua and Leon
Sincerely
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have stayed at La Perla twice now, with mixed results. The first visit was awesome--we were greeted by the staff with a cold glass of watermelon juice and a cheerful hello. We stayed in a room in the back of the courtyard pool, and the room was spacious and modern. Great A/C, hot water, and cold beer in the hotel bar.
On the second visit, things were different. No personal greeting, a room on the second floor (no lift or bellman) and an older, less modern room. The restaurant was painfully slow, and, yes, I know I'm on Nica time, but slow by their standards! Ask for a room by the pool for the nicest rooms.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review; we appreciate all comments. Clearly, not having someone assist you with your luggage is unacceptable . I personally have trained all of our staff, not just the bellboy, but waiters, guards and management, including myself to assist. AND properly greet each guest. Our General manager, George Berry, uses a desk in the reception area to be sure that all guests are greeted properly as well as the check out process in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Amongst lots of hostels La Perla is a true hotel with very nice staff, comfortably appointed rooms and a location that affords you the ability to walk to basically everything you want to see in Leon. We found the beds comfortable, the water hot, and the free breakfast (while not extraordinary) enjoyable. The hotel WIFI worked in the room as did the A/C. The town square, multiple dining options, and all of the beautiful architecture and cathedrals are literally at your doorstep.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank td_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thanks for your kind comments. As a family owned business it is our objective to work with each customer and tailor the service to meet their needs
Sincerely,
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The attention to the detail is way beyond what I expected... from the first step into the Hotel, to my exit... the food... wow... I can have a Bob Evans style breakfast or the recommended Nicaraguan style. See for yourself. Room service an A+. I tried a majority of foods on all day menu... perfect... the bar.... comfy. .. perfect selction.. wines. A+. Front Desk... on top of everything... Owner and family are always around... great. Onversation and insight as to history and to do things. Management.... there when u need them for anything. Location... nestled in between 10 or more churches... inside Leon... the people are proud and tough... its hot down here. Wow. But after a rain. Refreshing and beautiful... no better central location to set up shop, a little driving involved to get around.... beaches, mountains, volcano. Lake Nicaragua, Masaya(highly recommend), Grenada( reminds me of the Lesser Antilles ) .. You will not forget this stay... if there was a 6 star, I would put a seven. Blown away... out of the box for everything...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobluess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Wow...sounds like a place I want to stay! Very much appreciate the time and your effort to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your returning. You were very special guests.
Sincerely
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have been guests at La Perla several times in the past few years, and each stay has been delightful on all counts. The courtyard is an oasis from the heat and bustle of the street, and the staff has always been helpful and accommodating. The mojitos are the best in town, and the fresh corvina is a wonderful treat for dinner. The Peterson family is to be commended for the incredible amount of effort it took to transform and maintain a long-neglected property into the elegant and gracious place it is today.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size, so ask to see what is available before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJinGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

It was a pleasure serving you...The best aspect of operating a hotel in Leon are the wonderful guests. We appreciate your kind comments regarding my family and taking the time to submit a review.
Sincerely,
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The stay was good. The hotel was in the middle of Leon. the rooms were nice. however, when I checked out of the first room the bill was $117 USD (with all taxes and fees)and the clerk asked me for 3,600 cords which is obviously more than $117! That kind of ruined my whole experience as I felt like I had been taken advantage of.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seetheworldmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Clearly , this is an error. Our rates are indexed to the official exchange rate, which is a better exchange rate then one would receive at a bank. Therefore,

A. We will contact guest and verify their bill and request an address and we we send a money order to correct this problem.

B. review with our staff to ensure this does not occur in the future

C. Clearly post the exchange rate that we changed.

Again, we request any guest that has any issue to discuss with myself or our General Manager , George Berry

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 Cuadra Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £103 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing