We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
1 review
“Visit”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Hi i'm just writting this because i actually want to go to this hotel and i tried booking it in there website i couldn't it says there is no day available just wondering how much is it per day ?, and if you go with a second person would it be more i mean i only want one room nothing big. I heard this is an amazing hotel i read some of the reviews for this place so please give me a hand

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We are sorry you had an issue with our online reservation system. There was a short problem with our third party provider...It is all fixed.
Thank you
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    70
    49
    11
    8
See reviews for
47
128
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
352 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is a tad rundown but in a charming way, the spaces are great, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location is great. We rented two rooms for each of two non-consecutive nights so we saw 4 different rooms, all towards the front of the hotel--facing street and courtyard--and all were good. Courtyard is great for breakfast and food was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. On a continuous basis, we paint everyday and refinish door that are exposed to the tropical sun...I remember restoring 50 doors when we did the restoration of this historic 150 year old building. We hope you return to Leon
Sincerely
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

During my visit in Leon, I stayed at both the Convento as well as the Perla. Both places are great and can be recommended. For the younger crowd the Perla may be a bit more exciting because it has a very nice bar, restaurant and patio cocktail area smack in the middle of town. The décor throughout the hotel is very tasteful. You can tell that someone with a very good eye for stunning effects has been at work here.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room by the pool. If there's people on the pool patio at night, you will hear e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. We added 8 more rooms in the hotel annex which were designed for a very restful sleeping environment.

We hope you return to this special country and the beautiful city of Leon and after a busy day of visiting the churches and museums, have a refreshing beverage at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masaya, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Run there if you have 90 usd ! The location is great, the hotel wonderful. All who love architecture should enjoy... Swimming pool. Staff is really really great and helpful, they can help you giving some calls to find your next hotel in las peñitas

Room Tip: Guess all are ok, ours was around the swimming pool but those in the patio seem great too ! For fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrano41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting Leon. The hotel was clean and comfortable, with beautiful patios to relax on. The staff was very kind and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, but I would caution away from eating at the restaurant. Although the included breakfast was very good, we tried dessert at the restaurant and were sorely disappointed. Highly recommend walking down the street to Carniveros for dinner - the best meal we've had in Nicaragua, and for a great price!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent hotel in Leon. Bright, spacious rooms, friendly staff, large bathrooms and fast wifi. The breakfast featured fresh fruit and the central courtyard was sunny and inviting. We had a kingsized bed and good air conditioning. The hotel is in a central downtown location and most everything you want is just a short walk away. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at La Perla for two nights in October 2013. The hotel was very clean, the manager was very nice, they offered us a refresco upon arrival and check in. We stayed on the second floor in a room adjacent to the back veranda. It was very quiet. I don't know if a street-facing room would be as quiet as the street is fairly busy. Our room was clean and comfortable with a mini-fridge and good shower. The hotel's location is right in the center of town so it was easy to get around. No complaints! We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us. It was a shame the art museum was closed. I enjoyed visiting with you and hope that you return to Nicaragua and Leon
Sincerely
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Property: La Perla Hotel
Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing