We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I would highly recommend staying at the La Perla. I spent a week in Leon, Nicaragua and stayed the entire time at La Perla. It is a quaint and beautifully refurbished building with 15 rooms, an open courtyard and lovely pool. La Perla is conveniently located in the midst of Leon near the main square and is within walking distance of most things. I was traveling with 4 other colleagues and we were all able to get rooms around the pool - score! The owner and staff were very accommodating, polite and gracious. For example, we were getting up at 3:30am for work and the staff happily made us breakfast each morning at the very early hour (included in the price of our stay). At night, we mostly dined at La Perla as well and found our meals to be reasonable and delicious. Our rooms were clean and it was very quiet at night. The best part of La Perla is the owner and staff - they totally doted on us!! It was a perk to have such a personal experience. Anyway, we really enjoyed our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janegoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    74
    50
    11
    8
See reviews for
48
129
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We ended our trip, to visit our son, in Leon. What a perfect ending! The hotel is a beautifully restored mansion. We were even able to watch a Laker final from the bar, while having dinner. They will do anything you want. You only have to ask. Central America doesn't usually have bath tubs, they have some, just ask. This was our son's third trip to La Perla, he is a surfer and usually arrives hungry and dirty, They treat him like a diplomat. This will not be our last stay.
Thanks to the owner and staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baron
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2009

La Perla was a phenomnal hotel with everything a traveler could want. The owners were present and willing to take care of every need. Would give it my highest recomendation.

Helpful?
Thank baron90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Absolutely the best hotel travel value in Leon, Nicaragua. Impeccable facility, lovingly restored with wonderfully attentive staff. Striking artwork and national history displayed. Owners, Jim and Mark, are always personally involved and justifiably proud of their newly opened hotel. Do not miss the chance to see the complete set of 1880's survey work and plans for the original Nicaragua (Panama) Canal ! Not even the government of Nicaragua owns a copy. Housed in a first floor hotel meeting room.

Can't wait to return when the La Perla Casino opens directly across the street !

--

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsjustbigjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2009

I traveled to Nicaragua in mid April with my wife and 13 year old daughter and spent 5 days at the La Perla hotel. We had a very positive experience at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Leon. The hotel is very charming and only has about 15 rooms, so you immediately feel like family to the attentive staff. The location is perfect and is within easy walking distance to the many of the interesting sites in Leon. We attended Easter Mass at the Cathedral and it was only a short walk from the hotel. Safety is always a concern when traveling and my family and I felt very safe while at this hotel. Breakfast is included in the room price and the food was excellent and plentiful. We ate dinner twice at the hotel and the food was good and reasonably priced. The hotel has a small pool in their courtyard and we found the pool very refreshing after a day of traveling or touring. The coffee at this hotel is outstanding and we purchased 4 bags of their coffee to bring back to Maryland with us when we left. The owner/co-owner of the hotel is an interesting guy name Jim who really went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable and problem free. Tourism is really not that developed in Nicaragua and I was thankful for the other contributors to Tripadvisor who wrote about this hotel and made planning our trip to Nicaragua and Leon very easy.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2009
Thank you for the kind words...You were wonderful guests and a beautiful family
Sincerely,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

From the outside, this looks like a great hotel. Once we got into our
room though, I was disappointed. The door wouldn't lock until we
basically forced it, we had problems with the safe, there were ants in
the bathroom, and our window also wouldn't lock. They also promised
us two free bottles of water, but only gave us one, and they also only
gave us one set of towels, and we had to ask for another, and the room
was a little dusty too. On the plus side, the food at dinner was
good, as was the breakfast, and the front desk staff were nice,
although their English (at least on the evening shift) was
non-existent. Leon is a nice city to visit during the day, but I
doubt I would ever go back there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2009
We appreciate and learn from all comments; I have emailed the reviewer , but have not received a response. I believe our guest was with a tour group which stayed for one night. As a result we have taken the following actions:
1. Checked all security locks and repaired two locks
2. Replaced two safe boxes with similiar ones...only ones available in Nicaragua
3. Ants....We have had a schyduled pest control program and have added a late night inspection of vacant rooms (Ants are most active at night)

This is an example of the value of Tripadvisor.com....helps visitors in a selection of a hotel, PLUS helps the management improve the service. Thanks ,
Jim Petersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Loved every moment of our two night stay. The rooms are modern and very clean (although they are carpeted - and I much prefer tile or hardwood floors). We stayed in the standard room (I think A4) near the pool at the corner. It was very quiet. The a/c was perfect (you definitely need it in Leon). The pool was perfect. Hardly anyone is ever in it. The breakfasts were wonderful, tasty and filling and included fresh juice and great coffee. Staff is great. Wonderful service and great location very close to the main cathedral. The only thing is their arranged transport from Managua airport to Leon is expensive. Try Tierra Tours $55 usd for a private taxi to take you to Leon. Also to go to Las Penitas from the hotel, get a private taxi to take you there for $10 or less (negotiate!) They are also within a block from Tierra Tours (perfect to arrange a tour of Cerro Negro/sandboarding). Free Wi-Fi a plus.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#8 of 15 in Leon
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Property: La Perla Hotel
Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing