We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis In a Terrific City”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed 21 December 2009

My wife stayed at La Perla hotel in Leon in December. Our experience was awesome. The hotel is a boutique hotel that was once a mansion. It has been fully restored and is very, very beautiful. Jim Peterson, the owner, treated us like family and made sure that we had everything that we needed, The hotel is walking distance from everything. We used the hotel taxi service to pick us up from the Managua airport and also to take us to Granada for the day. We had a room in the back courtyard that opened onto the pool. We had the pool to ourselves for our stay and used it to cool down aftera day walking the city of Leon.

Leon is a beautiful, working Colonial city and La Perla is a a shining example of what the other colonial structures could be restored to.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimFitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2009

This hotel is as great. The owners are on-site and really take time to meet the guests and make sure they have a great time in Leon. One they even drove me to the beach since I got lost the day before trying to get there on my own.

Breakfast was included and since the food in the hotel was so good I eat there for Breakfast and dinner. This is not what I usually when I travel.

A week earlier visited Leon for a couple of days and stayed at a different hotel which was highly rated in Lonely Planet, what was I thinking from know on I am using the recommendations from tripadvisor since the reviews are current.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pictorlumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We had been driving around Leon looking for a place to stay - After checking out a few other hotels my wife wanted to check out La Perla but I was certain that it was going to be way out of our budget. I went inside and asked and was surprised that the rooms were only $80/night! Even though it was over our budget we decided that we should treat ourselves for the next two nights.

The hotel is incredible – it’s an old colonial mansion that has been completely renovated. The entire hotel is plush with an elegant air conditioned restaurant, small swimming pool, plasma TV in the bar, secure parking, etc. It would easily cost $300/night in the US. Our room was nice with a comfortable over sized bed, HOT water, cable TV, minibar, robes for guests to wear to the pool, etc.

When we arrived I had them do some laundry which was returned two hours later, warm out of the drier and everything was nicely folded. I think it was about $10 for a load.

The hotel is centrally located - two blocks form the Central Park and Cathedral. There are lots of museums and churches all within walking distance. The entire downtown area seemed very safe to me and we didn't have any hesitations walking around even at night. The owners are incredibly attentive to their guests - giving us suggestions on places to go, letting us use their laptops to check email, etc

I cant wait to go back to Leon and will DEFINATELY stay at La Perla!

I would ABSOUTELY return to La Perla!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

For women traveling, this is an excellent hotel for location, security, and ammenities. Personable owners with your comfort in mind and excellent staff made our trip wonderful. We enjoyed the restaurant food with excellent quality and service at a reasonable price. We highly recommend this hotel with its charm and quietness from the busy streets of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottiecarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

La Perla is a perfect welcome for the weary traveler. La Perla provides reasonable rates for superior comfort and very personal service. This boutique hotel adds sanity to Leon's sometime difficult to navigate venues. We stayed for only two nights but the rooms the sevice the bar and most of all the owner, Jim Petersen's personal attention gave us a sense of support in a very special Nicaraguan city where we had not previously traveled.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

As you step through the gates of La Perla from the hustle and bustle of the streets in central Leon, you step into a palatial atmosphere of elegance and serenity. This is an amazing place. A wonderful staff that waits on your every need greets you as you enter and they will be there to serve you throughout your stay. The rooms are everything you would expect in a first class, four-star hotel with every amenity. The included breakfasts are full breakfasts with fresh brewed Nicaraguan coffee grown on their own mountain plantation served on the patio in an enclosed beautiful garden, also a great place to relax with friends in the evenings. The private pool is perfect for a relaxing swim after a busy day. The dinning room serves gourmet food to satisfy any palette. If you are a gambler, for your evening entertainment, the soon to open La Perla casino is just across the street.
In short, La Perla is the only place to stay while you are in the Leon area!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Excellent accomodations, very clean rooms, excellent staff and personal attention by management. Beautiful clean swimming pool. Restaurant offered fine dining and variety of choices for all meals. Excellent free internet connection. Beautiful courtyards for relaxation. We will stay there everytime we visit Leon, NI.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#9 of 15 in Leon
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £60 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing