We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, comfortable rooms, and great food -- what's not to like?”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed 3 June 2010

La Perla is a beautiful example of a colonial renovation done right. The owners have remodeled the building into a luxurious hotel while still retaining the charm of the colonial era.

I was traveling Nicaragua with a friend and thanks to the tropical storm we ended up staying in Leon for several days longer than we had planned. Our original hotel was okay, until the roof started leaking in the torrential rains and I woke up in a wet bed. That's when we decided we deserved an upgrade.

Fortunately, La Perla was there to take us in. The rooms were well appointed and clean (not to mention a fantastic value), the beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. We spent a lovely hour or so chatting with owner Jim Peterson about art, business, and what there was to do in Leon in the pouring rain. Jim gave us great tips on seeing the best of Leon and when it was raining too hard to go out we entertained ourselves in the bar and restaurant, or just gazed at the incredible architecture and art collection.

The staff is incredibly friendly and efficient; they genuinely want you to be happy during your stay. Not being gamblers, we didn't get over to the casino but I'm pretty sure one more day of rain would have pushed us into at least giving it a try.

One thing you should know: This is Nicaragua. If you're expecting the usual sterile American hotel experience just go to Orlando or someplace. You'll be happier and so will everyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdoolin718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2010

The La Perla was originally built as a palace, in 1858... and that is what it is like again today. The room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. There is a first-rate restaurant, beautiful courtyards, and a refreshing swimming pool. The owner, Jim Peterson, manager Carlos Reyes, and all the staff, couldn't do enough for us. There is a large, secure car park right across the street, and a casino if you're feeling lucky! And just a couple of minutes walk from Central Park.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellyDancingRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

After spending a month in Nicaragua we decided to treat ourselves to something special at the end of our vacation. The outside of the hotel is amazing and the American owners were pleasant enough. I guess after reading the rave reviews we were expecting something really special. The room we stayed in had carpet on the floor which was old and filthy. The pools cleanliness was also subject to debate. The breakfasts were o.k. but that's about it. There was also an "extra" 4 legged guest in our room. Also the room did not have anywhere to put our luggage on so we had to leave our bags on the floor. Coming from Canada I would rate it about the same as a Super 8 Motel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prime_Sandy_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2010

As a small business owner, I take great pride and passion in my work. .I always respond to my guests and over the past 3 years, I have tried to greet all our La Perla guests. My partner Mark does the same. We always ask, "is everything OK?"..We are very proactive with our guests in resolving problems WHEN WE KNOW OF THE PROBLEM, while they are here if we are aware of issues
This guest is correct regarding the carpeting...We are the only hotel with carpeting and it is the finest available in the USA; Broyhill..We completed our annual cleaning last month,,, We hired a firm in Managua...I also read your other 10 reviews of your trip and sorry you wre disappointed with Nicaragua, in general. Other operators had the same comment "I wish the guest would have talked directly to us when they were our here"...I can report that the pool is clear and clean. I am bringing back from the USA an auto timer for the pump..(Not available here in NI) So we aprreciate the feedback.
Since opening the casino...Mark and I are in the hotel MORE, since I am not supervising construction and Mark is not buying materials. I am pleased to report that our hotel guests enjoy the AC in the casino and all the large screen TV's and sports programs and the bar area. We are adding a new sound system to the bar/patio/reception/dining areas...Tested a solar water system. .We continue to improve our hotel.
I will refrain from responding to comparing of our hotel to a Super 8 motel.. At 65 years "young" , I still remember my parent's lessons in being respectful.to all.
Sincerely,
Jim
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed in Leon for 2 nights while traveling Nicaragua in the summer, 2009. The hotel grounds are nice and the check-in process was easy and friendly. We were very disappointed with our room though. It didn't have any windows, not even a little one. So it was extremely dark, and combined with the fact that it was incredibly hot and humid outside, the room was very stuffy. The air conditioning made a lot of noise, so we had to shut it off to sleep.

Otherwise, very nice hotel. Excellent breakfasts, and conveniently located in Leon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theburmese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou1944, owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2010

The reviewer is correct..We actualy have 4 rooms without windows. Here is the background, This is an historic beautiful 150 year old palace. We remodeled with the permission of the Governmenalt Histrorical Department and we were not allowed to breach the 24" walls...Hence no windows...We are to inform all guests of this and to show them the room first...Maybe we failed to do this. Thanks to the reviewer, we have re-educated our staff, Our business guests actually prefer these rooms as they are very quiet. Thanks for your review
Sincerely Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed at this beautiful renovated Hotel from a recommendation from another hotellier in Nicaragua but unfortunately only stayed for two days.The superlatives that you will read on this site by other reviewers are ALL true and not the least bit overstated. The warmth extended to us by Mark and Jim ,the two owners who have been responsible for the complete renovation of this previous Colonial home, makes the whole experience one of the best stays that we have had in many years of travelling world wide. We found the whole experience faultless and the shame was that we had to move on after only two days. Like other reviewers we were also introduced to Julio of Julio tours who taxied us up from Granada and his historical tour of Leon and the local area proved to be the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PecaroWithamEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Went to Leon with the soul purpose of going volcano boarding - walking around Leon we discovered hotels weren't always safe looking.. Came across La Perla where they did some rearranging and made room for the two of us! The room was very comfortable, the pool was refreshing and the owners & staff took great care of us! Definitely recommend this place if you want a safe & comfortable oasis in the middle of a historic city such as Leon.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We had a very clean and comfortable room in the middle of the historic area of Leon, Nicaragua. The staff was helpful in accommodating a volcano surfing tour (really fun) and with getting to the bus station.

The restaurant is a total skip. Really expensive and the food was really not that great. There is a great restaurant on the I believe northwest corner of Central Plaza by the Cathedral (El Sesteo) - excellent Nica food.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 Cuadra Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £110 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing