We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Issa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Issa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vis
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel has a good location, 10 minutes walk from the town centre and ferry. The beach is just outside the hotel.
The hotel itself is a bit dated and in need of some refurbishment. However, the room we had was clean, good shower and a large balcony. Air con is extra (50kn a day), which is irritating as it is essential in high season, but it is very good and you just factor that into the price.
WiFi is now free and works well in public areas.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The food is average. Breakfast is what you would expect in this part of the world. We had dinner once, OK, but uninspiring.
Overall, this is a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balkandave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    17
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
22
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This is an average hotel in a beautiful place.Definitely do not expect much.The entire hotel is decorated spartan, old-fashioned and whit no style.Rooms are small and simple whit no wifi.Breakfast was mediocre with a fairly simple choice of food.
Hotel staff is also not on the level,rather uninterested.On the other hand, the hotel lies on the beautiful place,beach is across the street,and the view is beautiful.Vis is a beautiful little place so that you do not need a car and you can see the foot from hotel.Finally, average is a good rating for this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank alenmalagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vis hotels

Lancaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights after arriving on Vis with nowhere to stay after our apartment had been double booked. We paid nearly £100 per night for a clean simple room with a great shower but no fridge, a fantastic view of the sea and the harbour, but no aircon. Beach across the road. Simple breakfast boiled egg/omlette, processed meat ie ham salami mini hot dog sausages, cheese, sweetened orange juice 2 fruits, yoghurt, cereal, brown or white bread, no toast. All in all would have been simple and lovely if half or even two thirds of the price. Instead we felt it was just way over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancasterhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Being one of three hotels in Vis, Issa has the best location with the beach just in front.
Hotel is averge and quite old, but I must say that everything is very clean and the staff are nice and polite.
Food was okay, just what I expected to get in a 3 star hotel.
Every room comes with a balcony which is practical for putting there wet bathing suits and towles.
All together, it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana_Cro_Zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Nothing boutique or stylish about this place. Functional and clean, had to ask for an upgrade to get air-conditioning which is very desirable in August, making it 2,010kn for 3 nights with breakfast.

Less than 10 minutes walk from the ferry, which is also the town centre. There is a stony beach on the hotel doorstep with easy access to deep clean water with plenty of fish to watch, good for confident swimmers. We rented beds under the pine trees (30 kuna) and loved it. Breakfast buffet is a reasonable, not a great selection, but good quality.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The Issa was sufficient, but nothing special really. It’s a 3-Star which is maybe a little generous as it does hark back to General Tito’s 70’s Yugoslavia a bit. However, it is in a great location and the sea view rooms have a decent balcony and spectacular views of the bay. The rooms are kept clean enough, although the changes of towels were a bit random. We were on B&B tariff and the breakfast was adequate, nothing more, there was little imagination I’m afraid. All of the staff were polite and courteous. There is no Wi-Fi but the Bejbi Bar is a pleasant 10min seaside stroll away. Our room had TV with Croatian, German & Italian Channels I think, a decent shower and a hairdryer.

Room Tip: The sea views are amazing, you must get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

the hotel was sufficient, but nothing special at all. amazed there was no wifi (in this day and age), but the local bar and bakery were very friendly and had free wifi. the main town is a pleasant 5-10min seaside stroll away. lovely views from the balcony, bit of a shame we were harrassed by flies as penance for daring to open the windows though. breakfast was lame, we were glad we didn't sign up for dinner, can't imagine it would've been very enticing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vis
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamaris
Hotel Tamaris
#5 of 5 in Island of Vis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
hotel Bisevo
hotel Bisevo
#2 of 3 in Vis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
14.5 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
14.2 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Issa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Issa

Property: Hotel Issa
Address: Shetalishte Apolonija Zanelle 5, Vis, Island of Vis 21480, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Island of Vis > Vis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Issa 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Issa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing