We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding way point”
Review of Chambard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chambard
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kaysersberg
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding way point”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Kaysersberg is a wonderful stop along any tour of Alcase. We stopped on the way from Paris to Basil. Our room was at ground level at the back of the hotel. Castle ruin views. Dinner at the 2 Michelin star restaurant was a highlight of our trip and worth the expense. In most aspects it was a superior dinning experience to our dinner at Jules Verne 2 nights before... Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Diane-NewBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    105
    48
    15
    12
See reviews for
68
333
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a little gem in this delightful small town of Kaysersberg. Very professionally run by a great team and lead by Chef patron Olivier Nasti from his Michelin starred fine restaurant.
We have stayed several times before and loved it each time. This most recent visit in July was the best ever , great staff cheerful & friendly & so helpful at the front desk. If it was nearer London we would go back more often.
Super room with view & balcony, wonderful bathroom and all very very clean.
If you have the chance to travel that way do stay there, its a delight & pretty good value for money.
The town itself is just beautiful with all the surrounding vineyards.

Room Tip: I think they are all delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night with friends while traveling from Switzerland to Germany. The location of the hotel is beautiful. Nestled in the middle of wine fields, a castle to hike and a beautiful mid evil town at the front door. The hotel is very charming and clean. My disappointment was, when during our 2 hour breakfast no sparkling wine was available. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Europe and sparkling wine with orange juice was part of every breakfast buffet. Otherwise the buffet was nice but was 22 euros per person in addition to the room.

Room Tip: We went with the basic rooms and they were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This destination was the third leg of a food & wine tour - tough duty after visiting Burgundy and the Champagne regions only days earlier.
La Chambard is a gem tucked in the edge of Kaysersberg at the base of a beautiful Alsatian slope covered in grape vines. Of our 3 hotels, this one was the best: our room had a view of the vineyards and the Chateau de Kaysersberg (only 8 centuries old!) Our dinner at their gastronomique restaurant with 2 star chef Olivier Nasti was fit for any foodie. Dinner service and the hotel staff lived up to the 4 star+ rating. The room was spotless, comfortable and had a walk-in shower that washed away any stress remaining after a hard day of wine-tasting.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountainside room with patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent the Paris-Strasbourg train trip - during a train strike - sitting on the floor in a corridor. Picked up a car in Strasbourg and took the Route des Vins to Kaysersberg and the Hotel Chambard for three nights. We settled into the spacious and comfortable third floor suite 'Emma' and promptly forgot our uncomfortable trip. Loved the space, the well-equipped bathroom and the views from several windows, including the local ruined chateau, the town hall and roofs, the Schlossberg grand cru and a 15th century witches' tower. (Free wifi).

Our first dinner was in the hotel's traditional winstub - light entrées (fish presskopf and beef carpaccio on salade) followed by choucroute garni. Quality and finesse shone through! Next night in the restaurant gastronomique we had a stunning dinner - highlights were the egg, girolle and langoustine dish and the perfectly-cooked pigeonneau. And the gourmandise trolley! Chef Olivier Nasti is brilliant!

After a wine glitch, our desserts arrived while we were still enjoying our (excellent) red burgundy. Without a blink the desserts were returned to the kitchen to reappear after our wine was finished. And we were offered complimentary digestifs. A very good recovery!

We enjoyed the pool and spa area with its sun terrace. And breakfasts in the stone-walled cellar, with quality local and house-made products, including meats, finely smoked salmon and local yogurt.

We left very happy, with complimentary water and cake, ready to brave the train trip back to Paris. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked Hotel Chambard due to it's good reviews on trip advisor. It's not a cheap hotel, but it's location, the clean and modern rooms make it worthwhile. However, the breakfast at EUR 22 per person is a bit overpriced. The rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the vineyards and it's very quiet. There is much to see and do in this small town and we will definitely be back there.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at beginning of May. Everything was perfect, the staff always helped us and with a smile and gentle attitude we could relax and enjoy the stay rather then stress out as it was our first escape with our 10 months prince. The room was very clean and spacious. We could use our bottle warmer and sterilizer, the little bad for our baby was ok. The only remark is on the location of the room, which was on the second floor with the upper floor not served by the lift. Not a huge problem though as we could leave our stroller at the reception.
We also had two dinners, one in the gastronomic 2 stars (yeap! it was recently awarded the second star) and another in the winstub. Both dinners were fantastic, only one remark: the sweet wine we took as aperitif was much better in the winstub than in the 64 degree.
We also used the jacuzzi (also with our baby) and I tried the sauna which is included in the price :-) Very clean and nice.
Overall we enjoyed it a lot and we would like to come back, hopefully with more sunshine to walk in the vineyards and to the tower (all very close by). We could walk much as it was gray and wet two days out of three.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_and_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaysersberg
5.1 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Logis Hotel les Remparts
Logis Hotel les Remparts
#2 of 5 in Kaysersberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel A l'Arbre Vert
Hotel A l'Arbre Vert
#4 of 5 in Kaysersberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Schwendi
Hostellerie Schwendi
#1 of 3 in Kientzheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambard

Property: Chambard
Address: 9 rue du General de Gaulle, 68240 Kaysersberg, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Kaysersberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kaysersberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chambard 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Chambard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing