We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Causeway Motel(North Muskegon)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaway Motel(Muskegon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belaire Motel(Muskegon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmeriHost Inn Muskegon(Muskegon Heights)
View Hotel
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
303
153
69
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
153
69
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner roomfull size fridgerestaurant next dooroutdoor poolsliding glassmuskegon lakewater viewbeautiful hoteloverlooking the marinafloor to ceiling windowsmini kitchenadjacent restaurantdowntown areaupon checknice restaurantcontinental breakfastmichigan adventure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed a couple of nights at this hotel in a room with a king bed and here are my thoughts:
The hotel is designed in a vintage classic European style, nice. Hotel is located on a marina so some rooms overlook the lake for a nice view out of the big sliding doors (No balcony, just a railing so make sure that the kids don't open that door).
- Staff: friendly and helpful.
- Rooms: clean linen and bathroom, carpets were Ok but need shampooing , mattress was firm but not hard, firm and soft pillows were available. There was a fridge and microwave in the room but I'm not sure if all rooms have those.
- Noise levels: mostly quiet except for a brief period when neighbors were talking loudly in the hallway. Couldn't hear noises from rooms next door which was a relief after some bad experiences I had recently at another hotel (Are you reading this The Henry hotel, Dearborn?). We were in an upper floor and I could hear the sound of must be the ventilation system on the roof but it was tolerable.
- Breakfast is standard continental fare with scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles etc.. Average, but the view of the marina livens things up.
Parking was plentiful and free.
This is a good hotel and it's a good value. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, with a view of the lake if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeenToManyPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

BeenToManyPlaces, we appreciate your feedback in regards to your guest experience and taking the time to share it with us as well as other travelers. Thank you for your feedback to the many aspects of your stay with us and we will be sure to share them with our team members and departments. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My family has stayed at many of the better hotels in and around Muskegon and have not been impressed--especially for the price. (In one case, A Victory Inn & Suites--not "better" in any sense of the word--police and EMS responded both nights we were there and someone died or was killed!) We usually stay in Grand Rapids but it necessitates a 40-minute drive each way to go to Michigan's Adventure. With most of the hotels booked, we decided to try the Shoreline Inn and will return next time.

It's an odd place and my rating of "4" here is not equivalent to a "4" in a more developed market (e.g. the Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa was a MUCH nicer place that I also rated 4). But, compared to other hotels in Muskegon, it is great.

The staff was friendly and very responsive to a few problems we encountered (thermostat didn't work, e,g.). The executive club room was very hot (83 degrees, thermostat set to 60) so we didn't spend much time there, but paying a little more for a higher floor was worthwhile--great view.

The hotel restaurant was also very odd. My teen son and I had dinner on a Saturday night. One other table was occupied. When the host-server-(cook?) saw us, she asked if we would be dining with a tone that suggested real surprise that suggested that it may not be the busiest place. It took long time to get our food but it was pretty good and an excellent value--especially for a hotel restaurant. A $6 Caesar salad was huge--plenty for a meal (but served with Parmesan peppercorn instead of Caesar dressing). The chips came with homemade corn-chili-tomato salsa and guacomole (could have used more seasonings and lime juice, but not bad and very fresh). The "pizza" was disappointing and actually made on a 7-8" piece of flatbread or pita, though.

The one complaint everyone in my family had was that the shower was terrible, "It should be illegal" and "I'm exhausted after trying to rinse" were two comments. Very little water flow. Also, it would be hard for a tall person to fit. There was no tub and rinsing took forever.

Overall, a good experience and value and we will be back.

Tip: Don't open your windows! The bugs are outrageous, even on the 9th floor (but none in our room which was very clean and comfortable--once the A/C was fixed).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michigander94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Michigander94, thank you so much for sharing your guest experience with us as well as other travelers. It is very important that we get feedback from our guests and certainly appreciate the time you spent giving us your feedback. We will be sure to let our team members know that you enjoyed their service and attention. We will be sure to let the Bistro Manager know the comments in regards to our newly opened Bistro inside the hotel as well as our Maintenance Engineer in regards to the shower issue you experienced. We apologize that this was an issue for you and will be sure to fix the issue promptly. Thank you again for sharing your guest experience with us and we hope you enjoyed your time at Michigan's Adventure. We do hope to see you again soon this summer on your next stay in Muskegon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a room that looked out over the lake - and we would have had a wonderful sunset view, except for the crane in our way. The room was well accommodated. There were areas that could have used a little spiffing up however. There was a pull out table on our night stand that had crumbs - and other minor type things. We had a full sized refrigerator, microwave and wet bar. The breakfast I thought was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoRayeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

JoRayeA, we appreciate your feedback in regards to your guest experience with us. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your view even though there was some distraction. We appreciate the feedback on the crumbs you found in your room and will be sure to share with our Housekeeping Team to ensure that we are detail oriented. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Muskegon and wish you safe travels this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

There aren't many "nice" hotels in the area. This is very nice, clean & friendly! Same price as most of the 2 star hotels! I would rate this a 4 star. Located next to the Lakehouse restaurant! Great Sunday brunch!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carriemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Carriemitchell, we appreciate your feedback regarding your guest experience with us and we appreciate the compliments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as t he guest amenities and service we provide such as The Lake House Waterfront Grille you were able to have Brunch at on Sunday! We look forward to seeing you again on your next travels to Muskegon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The inn location is great - within walking distance to downtown, on the water and a short drive to the beach. Everyone at the hotel was so nice and very helpful.
The lobby bar was the perfect place to relax after a day running about with family! The restaurant next door was fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

MarianneB, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your guest experience as well as other travelers. We appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know what a great experience they had. We will be sure to pass along to our team members how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Muskegon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews