We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views of Lake Michigan”

Muskegon State Park
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This State Park offers a variety of winter recreation including ice skating, cross-country skiing and luge.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views of Lake Michigan”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great access to the lake. Awesome views of frozen tundra in Late February. Beautiful to visit year-round.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    49
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Stop Shoveling, Start Playing.”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As the Class 3 Kill storm drags on in 2014 we have been looking for ways to escape our house-a-tosis. Since we had a 30 degree day we ventured up to N. Muskegon to try snow shoeing at the Muskegon WInter Sports Complex located at the State Park. We checked the trail status on the website before driving over. Scenic Drive was a pleasant ride. Good work out, cheap date! $8 for the trail pass and $5 to rent snow shoes. We hiked the trail to Lake Michigan. Luge was fun to watch and the ice skating path through the woods was cool. You need a recreation pass to park for free. Parking is a nightmare, bring all your patience and four wheel drive. We went on Saturday at 2 PM, not the best time admittedly, everybody and their cousin rolled in from brunch. Cross Country trails looked good, may come back when the wind chill gets above zero. Bathrooms were clean and snacks not badly priced. Equipment to rent is current and good condition. (Although I brought my gluten free buffet with me, doc's orders :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank iwearblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great way to spend a winter day”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

If you are in the area! it was fun to spend a winter day. Ice skating was fun. Lots of room and the path is fun, we just wish it was longer. More like pond skating -- the ice is a little bumpy but easy enough for kids.

Luge you need to be 8 to try it. We watched and interesting to watch!

The warming hut has snacks including hotdogs and corn dogs. The food isn't great but if you need it, it is there

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2kidstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruitport, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome park”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is an awesome park. close to the channel for some great fishing, swimming in lake Michigan. Love to camp there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank renote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful at sunset! Never been to the park and can't believe we waited this long. We will be back next summer with the whole family!

Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muskegon State Park also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Muskegon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing