We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Maritime Museum

This retired WW 2 LST Navy landing ship is now a museum. Many original artifacts, relics and... read more

Reviewed today
tuffyluwho
,
Muskegon, Michigan
An amazing look into the past!

This was a spur of the moment trip that was amazing to say the least. I took my young grandson to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
CHowUDoin
,
Muskegon, Michigan
via mobile
Read all 150 reviews
  
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
106
40
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
40
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour engine room floating museum main deck piece of history military equipment living quarters highly recommend if you are wheel house great tribute nice job great museum mobility issues world war gift shop muskegon lake worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in the museum and it was like going back in time! what an amazing adventure. We came back later in the evening for "Movies on Deck". To be sitting on a warship under the stars on the deck watching a movie outdoors was incredible!! To hear the history of the ship and how donations keep it going was very heartfelt. We cannot wait to go back again next summer!!! Just bring your own chairs..they sell snacks and drinks.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank suzie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Due to mobility issues, we knew we were not able to do the tour, but we decided to go anyway and check out the gift shop. We had great conversations with both a volunteer and gift shop attendants, who were all very friendly and helpful. We were able to see the main lobby area, so it was worth the trip.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We visited this ship when it opened. The self guided tour is very good. The ship is absolutely wonderful. You will definitely enjoy this, also a good place for a family outing. It is a must do if near by.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank connieo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

What a great place! The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The exhibits were so unique and told the story of D-day with respect to those who served. Please be aware that this museum is not for anyone that has any mobility issues. There are many ladders and stairs to be navigated.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank LizPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Wonderful exhibit! A you wind your way through the ship there are so many things to look at! Take your time going through. There are small spaces and some climbing involved. Small kids will need to be with a parent at all times.
You can even go up on the deck for a beautiful view of Muskegon lake. Yoga is offered on the deck weather permitting. You can also rent out the deck for parties. A must visit when in downtown Muskegon.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank TravelinMa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews