We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Maritime Museum

This retired WW 2 LST Navy landing ship is now a museum. Many original artifacts, relics and... read more

Reviewed today
tuffyluwho
,
Muskegon, Michigan
An amazing look into the past!

This was a spur of the moment trip that was amazing to say the least. I took my young grandson to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
CHowUDoin
,
Muskegon, Michigan
via mobile
Read all 150 reviews
  
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
106
40
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
40
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour engine room floating museum main deck piece of history military equipment living quarters highly recommend if you are wheel house great tribute nice job great museum mobility issues world war gift shop muskegon lake worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

It was fascinating to hear the number of tanks that could be carried on the main deck and how fast they could unload them. The rest of the tour was interesting and informative. The pictures and comments are dedicated to armed services personnel from WWI to the current conflicts. I too well remember the Vietnam conflict and onward. Also reading about local people that had served and didn’t make it was sad, yet it was great to see them remembered in this way

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank patriciaa486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Wonderful place to visit. Summer movies are a pleasant way to spend an evening. Great place to spark interest in history for young kids!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Stopped by and it IS open on Mondays. Very interesting museum inside. I was on an LST in Vietnam (not this one) and they have kept it faithful to original.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in the museum and it was like going back in time! what an amazing adventure. We came back later in the evening for "Movies on Deck". To be sitting on a warship under the stars on the deck watching a movie outdoors was incredible!! To hear the history of the ship and how donations keep it going was very heartfelt. We cannot wait to go back again next summer!!! Just bring your own chairs..they sell snacks and drinks.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank suzie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Due to mobility issues, we knew we were not able to do the tour, but we decided to go anyway and check out the gift shop. We had great conversations with both a volunteer and gift shop attendants, who were all very friendly and helpful. We were able to see the main lobby area, so it was worth the trip.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews