We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snug Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muskegon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Muskegon B&B and Inns
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was my second year staying here during the same week. This year we had little flea like bugs throughout the kitchen. We kept every kitchen item we brought in the refrigerator after I learned they crawled into the inner workings of my blender. Taking a shower was like taking a bath as the shower door leaked. The AC was crazy loud when it cycled on and off. Now, I'm not a really picky traveler. But I expect to get what I pay for. We spent $550 for 4 nights. All we truly needed was a clean place to lay our heads each night as we did not use the kitchen for anything more than a morning smoothie. Don't think we'll return next year unless the price is drastically lowered.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 unless the shower door gets fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2015
I am sorry to see that you had a problem when staying at our place. I wish you had mentioned it to us at the time so that we may have corrected the problem. The bugs that you refer to are gnats, which do get into the rooms if you leave your porch light on. This is what happens in the country. There are bugs. We recommend keeping your porch light turned off, so it doesn't attract the gnats. The shower door gasket has been replaced. A guest was kind enough to let us know that it was leaking. We typically don't shower in our guest rooms, so unless someone mentions that it is leaking, we wouldn't know. As for pricing, we are actually priced slightly lower than the local hotels, which do not have Sleep Number beds or a kitchen in the room. I wish you had mentioned to us that you had these issues, because they could have been easily rectified, and I'm sure you would have had a very pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My family loves to stay here! We try to go every year. Kim & Willie are very helpful and welcoming hosts. We love to spend the days at the beach and then relax in our room in the evenings with a treat from their ice cream stand. I'd live here if I could.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Took a quick getaway to see the fall color over Columbus day weekend. Brought our 7 month St Bernard puppy with and had found this place on bringfido.com. Location was excellent for getting to trails for walking and park and Lake Michigan are walking distance. The owner (Willie) was extremelly helpfull. He took interest in asking us what we were looking to do and then had lots of good information on where to go and what to see. Also he had really good recomenations on the best places to eat. Resort is cared for, well maintained and clean. Rustic setting,kind of like renting a cabin. The kitchen was a nice feature and was appreciated being able to make a pot of coffee in the morning and not to be drinking it from styrofoam cups. Beds are the sleep number beds which we normally don't care for. Overall a very nice place. The owners are very helpfull and go out of their way. Friendly to pets with area to excercise them. Definately will stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillNHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a great time at Snug Harbor. The location is spectacular and the accommodations were perfect for our stay. We were on a Fall Break getaway with our family. We loved having the Muskegon State Park right out the front door and Lake Michigan within walking distance. North Muskegon and Muskegon are great, family-friendly areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I were visiting Muskegon State Park on our way to a fishing trip up the Muskegon River. We found this place to stay from the recommendations on TripAdvisor. Kim & Willie were extremely warm and welcoming and provided us with a pizza place that delivered to the resort and then brewed up some coffee on Sunday morning for us prior to check out. They gave us the directions and trail information to go find the Bald Eagle's nest (we saw the nest, but didn't see the Eagles). We didn't get to sample or have ice cream as it was getting too cold, but truly believe this is a great place to be with a family. Close to the State Park, but you are able to have your own little kitchen and activities out front and the outfitter store next door is like a mini grocery with anything you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Snug Harbor for one night and it was just want we were looking for. We wanted to do some hiking and kayaking before the colder weather set in. We wanted to stay somewhere close to the water and somewhere we could bring our 2 Golden Retrievers--and this looked like a great place, from reading previous reviews. The room was just enough space for the four of us. Having a kitchen was super nice, so we brought our own food and took advantage of the fridge, sink and stove. The beds were comfy and there wasn't much noise to bother us. The place is right across the street from the state park and we found some great hiking trails there--the dogs loved them! Muskegon Lake was a little too industrial for our liking, so we kayaked on the smaller, residential lake nearby--Bear Lake. It had a nice public park and beach where we could let the dogs run around and swim, before we put our kayaks in. North Muskegon had everything we were looking for in our quick 2-day adventure!! We'll be back and recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lyonskac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhododendron, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was very happy with my vacation here! The rooms were clean and tidy, and Lake Michigan was only about a mile down the road. I will definitely be coming back here!!! Not once did i find myself bored with nothing to do. It was perfect! I could have stayed forever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnroscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon
3.9 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#8 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
11.3 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort

Property: Snug Harbor Resort
Address: 3492 Memorial Dr, Muskegon, MI 49445-2132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will fall in love with the beauty and the many things to do during your stay at Snug Harbor Resort. We are located across the street from the Snug Harbor boat launch, in the Muskegon State Park, where you can launch your boat, fish from the dock, ice fish, hike on the beautiful hiking trails, or picnic. We are just one mile from the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan, and the State Park beach, with the channel and boardwalk connecting Muskegon Lake to Lake Michigan. The Winter Sports Complex is just two miles away, with Olympic Luge, snow shoeing, cross country skiing, ice skating and hockey rink, and a fabulous ice skating trail through the woods, during the winter months. Michigan's Adventure Amusement and Water Park is less than 10 miles away. We have fresh blueberries, which guests can pick, in season, several campfire pits for evening campfires, "Scoops" Ice Cream Shop, as well as Sleep Number beds in every room. Snug Harbor Resort is pet friendly, and the perfect place for the whole family. Plan your next vacation or family reunion at Snug Harbor Resort! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing