We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again--Fairfield Inn remains one of the only choices in Muskegon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Back again--Fairfield Inn remains one of the only choices in Muskegon”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We travel to the Muskegon, Michigan, area regularly to visit family and are always on the lookout for a quality place to stay. Our experience is that the city just doesn't have much in the way of solid, clean, "fresh," family-oriented accommodations. Once again, we looked into the Fairfield Inn (one of our "go to" spots, along with the Hampton Inn just down the road). Once again, we were pleased with what we found.

The hotel remains clean, the staff friendly, the pool inviting. The location is also good--right next to the mall and a variety of dining options, as well as lots of different shopping locations, in case we find we have a need. Internet was easy to access, and the free breakfast was acceptable and offered enough different options (if not fabulous).

The biggest drawback to the place? How difficult it can be to get a reservation! The place fills up! A few months out, we weren't even able to reserve a room. Luckily for us, I kept trying, and about one month out, a room because available using the online system. Make sure to get the AAA discount, AND to look for the cookies (my kids love 'em).

Muskegon needs more accommodation options, but until it gets them, the Fairfield Inn Norton Shores is our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldMKGNS, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for consistently choosing the Fairfield Inn and Suites Muskegon. We sincerely appreciate the business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    62
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
73
42
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This hotel is new and very nice. Everything was exactly as we expected it - clean, comfortable, friendly staff, good breakfast selections. The swimming pool is small, but warm. Good value for what you receive, including free high speed internet.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsw34103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escanaba
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I can't say enough for the friendly/helpful staff, cleanliness, and breakfast! However, we will never stay here again because of the VERY small pool, VERY noisy room, and small beds. We could literally hear the people in the next room talking and running the water, and people in the hallway above us. The pool was so small that my husband and I couldn't sit without getting splashed. There were maybe 8 kids in the pool and they were all swimming into each other. We finally left at our children's request. The hotel is so nice, so I don't understand why they'd put double beds in their rooms instead of queens. In so many ways this hotel was one of the best we've ever stayed at (exceptional staff!) but in the ways that it really mattered (having a quiet, comfortable nights sleep) it really failed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommybics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
313 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Everything about this Fairfiled Inn was just fine...location...room...service...cleanliness...breakfast bar. We have stayed twice in Muskegon at the Hampton Inn and it is also fine, but this is even better.Quiet. And very close to several restaurants. Next time we take the Lake Express we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I loved the staff at this hotel. They were friendly and helpful. Everything was so clean! I had stated it was my husbands birthday and they left a small cake and card in the room. Excellent service!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizaMarie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I've stayed here multiple times while traveling on business and I've always had a pleasant stay. The staff has ranged from good to great. The beds, furnishings, etc are all where they should be for a hotel at this price point; good but nothing exceptional. The rooms are always clean and I had noise issues from the next room once but I think he was just a loud talker.

The location is farther away from downtown and any interesting non-chain restaurants than I'd like but to be honest the only decent non-chain restaurant I've eaten at in town is Hearthstone anyways so maybe I should check out the restaurants around the mall anyways. Given the limited hotel options in town I'd heartily recommend the Fairfield.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Our only request was a quiet room. We were placed between the ice machane and water pump room. And close to the outside door. There was roaring and dropping ice all night long. There was a lamp pole out side the window and the curtain were not able to block the light you could read a book by the amount of light. We used hair clips to pull the curtain to getter. They would not move us! Because of Black Friday shoppers which we heard all night banging the outside doors.

We were told since we used a third party (Orbitz) they would NOT look up our membership reward card. And would NOT credit our stay. The front desk was not usualy manned. I could NOT get a hot cup of tea in the evening the pot was always empty. And no one around to ask to fill it.

Room & hall dirty. Room was not cleaned. just sheets pulled up daily. I have used third party resverations many times and never treated this way! Always treated with respect.
While we were checking in I saw the manger run out to tell someone the pets not allowed. they Said we are just dropping off our stuff the dog is going with us to stay at Moms. It is too cold for her in the car -the temps was in the teens. The manger was not happy and followed them down the hall.
I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beauty1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldMKGNS, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
At Fairfield Inn Muskegon we pride ourselves in providing a clean room and great service, at a great price! I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We would love to welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
6.9 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Address: 1520 E Mount Garfield Rd, Muskegon, MI 49444-7728
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores Hotel Muskegon
Fairfield Inn Muskegon Heights
Fairfield Muskegon Heights
Muskegon Heights Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing