We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids had a blast!!!”
Review of Muskegon, KOA

Muskegon, KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muskegon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muskegon, KOA
Lansing
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kids had a blast!!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in one of the lakeside 2 room cabins. It was right on the water, beautiful location. Kids fished and played in the water right outside the cabin. Caught a ton of fish, kids were loving it! Cabins were sound proof, didnt hear anything outside. They had plenty to do with the swimming, (they loved the blow up slides on the water), the bounce pillow, bike rental, playground including a small zip cord. Campground had free wifi, but you had to be outside to get it, it wouldnt work inside the cabin. Also there were no fridges in the cabins, we went through a lot of ice. But we are definitely returning, great family fun!

Room Tip: The lakeside two room cabins are on the otherside of the campground from the highway, could not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    6
    9
    10
See reviews for
32
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After reading some of the published reviews we were nervous about staying at Muskegon KOA. Our experience was quite the opposite of what we expected. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, including Steve the owner. The campground was clean, well run and felt safe, it appears that there is a lot of thought put into where they place campers. They regularly patrol, pick up garbage and make repairs throughout the day. The bathroom/shower house in the back of the campground was clean and comfortable - not like a five star hotel - but hello its a campground! We needed to purchase a hose from the campground store, the price was extremely reasonable as were the snacks and trinkets the kids purchased there also. The beach was great, the kids loved the slides and the clean sandy beach. They do charge a VISITOR fee which makes sense as visitors can use the beach, bathrooms, fish in the lake, playground ETC. The location was super close the Michigan Adventure, which is why we chose this KOA. There is also batting cages/mini-golf/ice cream store close by. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: request campsite on lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This camp ground was small and out of the way, just like we wanted! The bathrooms were kept clean and everyone was friendly! I felt safe leaving the grounds to go to Michigan Adventure. It only took us about 7 minutes to drive there. The lake was clean and had slides for the boys. The store was reasonably priced, and well stocked. We really enjoyed our stay. We will positively use this campground again next year and are planning a longer stay. Thank-you to all the Staff for a great weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just got home from staying in a cabin for 2 nights. I was honestly a bit nervous after reading some of the bad reviews on this campground, but took a chance as it was so close to Michigan Adventure. The campground exceeded my expectations- the staff was very friendly and accomodating, the sites were clean, the bathrooms were clean as well - not one of those campground bathrooms that you leave the shower feeling dirtier than you entered! Had a blast with families camping nearby. We loved the jumping pillow and rolling log. My only complaint would be the water depth which the inflatable water slide is located, as the lake is deep where it is located making it difficult for my 6 year old to enjoy. Overall, we had a great experience and hope to return next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We liked this campground a lot. They were very conscientious about picking up garbage and keeping the sites clean. Our 8 year old made friends and had a blast with the bikes, jumping pillow and playground and it's super close to the amusement park. We'll definitely be going back next year. The staff was nice, the restrooms were cleaned daily and I liked that there was a dish-washing station at the bathroom near the cabins. I would recommend the package, it saved us at least $30 in amusement park tickets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbielaczyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was there on the last weekend of the 2013 season. The owner went out of his way to make sure my stay was above average. He was so friendly that I felt like I have known him for years! Clean rest rooms and sites. The store was low on items but it was the last day! I have stayed here before and never had nothing but fine service and great camping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

It was way too loud, way too crowded and there were way too many inconsiderate people. Not clean at all. They picked up our garbage 5 minutes after we got there like they had nothing better to do. If you stay there, bring earplugs! They also wouldn't let my 16 year old son get me a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muskegon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon
5.6 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
208 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
417 reviews
10.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
10.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muskegon, KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muskegon, KOA

Property: Muskegon, KOA
Address: 3500 Strand Rd, Muskegon, MI 49445-9559
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Muskegon
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing