We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC
Ranked #1 of 4 Muskegon B&B and Inns
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Can't say enough good things about this place. Beautiful Victorian inn, clean as a whistle, great comfy beds, lovely and comfortable back porch, charming hosts, great location. There is a lot of attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
32
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hi Barb & Fred,

This place was lovely! Breakfast was delicious, and the B&B was in a great location. We biked the entire weekend, went to the beach, and went kayaking, returning to the B&B each night to hang out and relax. The rooms were exquisit, and the atmosphere was very peaceful. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, quiet getaway.

:)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripmctrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This place is for real. No detail was overlooked in making this a truly Victorian style inn. I'm not super crazy about Victorian-era houses, but it was fun looking through all the knick-knacks, and the wallpaper was gorgeous. There was also a player piano that the owners showed off for us. The owners and their Yorkies are incredibly friendly, and they actually MAKE the huge breakfast spread by order in the morning. The room was also super cozy and the jacuzzi was a perfect end to a long day of playing in the snow. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overstuffedbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I spent our tenth anniversary in the Captain's Cabin at Port City Victorian Inn. The inn is beautifully decorated and the history of the house is very interesting to read. We had a wonderful room with a great bed, a fabulous jacuzzi tub that fit us both, and privacy. Our privacy was respected and we were able to come and go any time without disrupting the other guests or our hosts. The WiFi and cable TV was important to my husband and he appreciate both. As a vegetarian, Barb & Fred accommodated my needs without question. We enjoyed the home, the delicious food and the community. Lots to do, great places to visit and scrumptious places to eat! GREAT visit!!

Room Tip: The Captain's Cabin has a private balcony and 2 person jacuzzi in the room along with a sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllisaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

A last minute trip, found one room available, the smallest room, but very comfortable bed, and the bathroom was so nice, many nice touches, double rain head shower, we really liked the privacy and being able to enter either the front porch or the back of the house with a stairway right off our room, Barb and Fred are wonderful hosts, everyone felt relaxed and welcome, and the Victorian furnishings were top notch, and it was interesting learning the history of the house.

Room Tip: For a specail night, the Captain's Quarters has everything, but we toured all the rooms and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We highly recommend the Port City Victorian Inn in Muskegon, MI. The innkeepers are delightful and attentative. The Inn is beautifully decorated and very clean. The covered back porch is the perfect place to visit with friends or relax with a book. Breakfast was delicious and Barb is more than willing to accommodate any special dietary requirements. We will definitely return to the Port City Victorian Inn the next time we travel to Muskegon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harnessml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

I traveled to Muskegon for business and initially chose the Port City Victoria Inn as a lovely alternative to a sterile hotel room. Turned out to be closer to heaven. The house is meticulously renovated, full of Victorian furniture & ambiance with all the right modern touches (fabulous soaking tubs, tv/dvds in all the rooms, fast wireless, comfy beds ...). Barb & Fred are wonderful hosts, perfect blend of great restaurant suggestions & advice yet sensitive to privacy. Then my second night we had a huge snowstorm, my training was canceled for the day, piles of snow left us all housebound. They treated me to warm chocolate chip cookies, scrumptious breakfast, lunch & dinner, even cleared snow off my car while I lounged in one of the several sitting rooms reading. Turned a potential stranded disaster into a glorious day of unplanned pampering. I can't thank them enough! And I recommend the Port City to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneSupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
1.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#5 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC

Property: Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC
Address: 1259 Lakeshore Dr, Muskegon, MI 49441-1659
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Port City Victorian Inn! Come and indulge your senses at our four-time Award Winning Bed & Breakfast Inn; located along the bluffs of Muskegon Lake. We have been honored and recognized for: "Most Historical Charm"; Best for "Honeymoon and Anniversary" and two-time winner for "Best in the Mid-West"! We hope you enjoy visiting our site and eventually visiting our Inn just as much as we enjoy having you as our guests! Our Inn is the 134 year old Queen Ann Victorian mansion, built by Alexander Rodgers, Sr. in 1877. This five bedroom, 5,500 square foot home sits on the bluffs of Muskegon Lake, just minutes from Lake Michigan sugar sand beaches and the downtown business district. Business and leisure travelers feel a real sense of home. Five bedrooms with private baths and views of the lake, three with double-whirlpool tubs. Enjoy the rooftop pergola and TV/VCR room with views of the lake. Two parlors filled with antiques and Victorian decor throughout the Inn. Remote control A/C, CATV, Fireplaces. Open year round. We are Barbara and Fred Schossau and after serving our guests for almost nineteen years, we not only believe that God brought us here to this beautiful home, but His provisions also included the gift of hospitality. Barbara and I thoroughly enjoy entertaining our guests and serving a wonderful hearty breakfast every morning. Our motto is, “Hospitality the Old Fashioned Way”, and our goal is, "Within reason, we will do whatever it takes to make our guests happy." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing