We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming home, gracious innkeeper, all around good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC
Ranked #1 of 4 Muskegon B&B and Inns
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming home, gracious innkeeper, all around good experience”
Reviewed 7 August 2009

This was our first stay at what I would call a "real" B&B. Barb is a most gracious and accommodating innkeeper. Her home is lovely and the location (right across from Muskegon Lake) is very good for most anything you need to do in the Muskegon area. We stayed for 3 nights. Our room was the smallest yet had possibly the most comfortable bathroom arrangement. Breakfasts were very good. Everything was neat, clean and inviting. The area was very quiet at night, making it easier to relax and sleep. I would not hesitate to stay there again and have already recommended PCVI to friends and family in the area for their guests. Skip the high price, sterile, uncomfortable and cold hotels in the area. Port City Victorian Inn made us feel more like family than travelers.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigKidsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
32
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I stayed at the PCVI while taking a sailing course at Torresen Marine and had a wonderfull three nights there.

It is in a very quiet residential area, very close to the lake and an easy drive to restaurants & local attractions.

Very clean room, comfortable bed, cordial hostess, wireless internet, spacious common areas, safe parking and good breakfast. All rooms were FULLY decorated in the Victorian style.

BTW, Muskegon seemed to be a really nice place to visit. Not 'touristy' but with enough things to do to occupy several days.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Our stay in the Port City Victorian Inn was very relaxing and a great jumping off point. The rose room was very nicely appointed and quiet. The morning's breakast at 9 AM was good - fruit juices, fresh fruit, freshly baked breakfast breads, and a breakfast egg frittata that was served with sour cream and salsa. The morning conversation was lively and probably the most memorable part of our stay. Barb is a gracious hostess and provided good advice regarding activities in the area.

  • Liked — size of the bathroom and good breakfast in the morning
  • Disliked — no view of the lake
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedheadProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2007

My husband and I have never wanted to stay at a bed and breakfast, but this accomodation changed our minds. The room was lovely, the breakfast was delicious, and the hosts (Barb and Fred) were attentive as well as interesting. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2006

My wife and I were given a weekend getaway as a gift from our four children. They selected the Port City Victorian Inn. We traveled from Milwaukee on the high speed car ferry. The 2.5 hour trip was fun and relaxing versus a long drive through Chicago traffic. The Inn was terrific, the hosts friendly, and breakfast was excellent. It's a convenient location for anyone traveling on the ferry from Milwaukee. It was too early in the year for the beaches, however we happened to be there for the Tulip festival. As a result, there were many events in Holland MI, a short drive from the B&B including over 5 million tulips in full bloom. This B&B provides a nice location, minutes from the ferry terminal, to explore the area.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2006

Arrived in Muskegon on the high-speed ferry, Lake-Express and stayed overnight. Owner was gracious enough to pick me up at the ferry terminal which is a short drive from the B&B. The house was beautifully restored and all the rooms spacious with modern bathrooms.

Had a great conversation with the owner that evening about the town and her preservation efforts with the house. Breakfast was fantastic and served in a room overlooking a park.

The house is on a quiet street so it was a peaceful stay all around.

Definitely one of the better B&B's I've stayed in.

If I lived in Milwaukee, I think I'd take my bike on the Lake-Express and spend a weekend at the Muskegon beaches and stay at the Port City Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaltimoreJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa,CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2004

This is by far, one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in. Elegant and historic (built in 1877). Large rooms, very elaborate bathrooms, excellent remote controlled air conditioning. The whole atmosphere makes you feel like you've stepped back in time with all the furnishings and decorations, but with all the modern conveniences. The host & hostess are wonderful and the food is grand. Just can't say enough. With views of Muskegon Lake and a great neighborhood to sight see, this is THE place to stay in Muskegon.

Helpful?
4 Thank CaliforniaTJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
1.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC

Property: Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC
Address: 1259 Lakeshore Dr, Muskegon, MI 49441-1659
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Port City Victorian Inn! Come and indulge your senses at our four-time Award Winning Bed & Breakfast Inn; located along the bluffs of Muskegon Lake. We have been honored and recognized for: "Most Historical Charm"; Best for "Honeymoon and Anniversary" and two-time winner for "Best in the Mid-West"! We hope you enjoy visiting our site and eventually visiting our Inn just as much as we enjoy having you as our guests! Our Inn is the 134 year old Queen Ann Victorian mansion, built by Alexander Rodgers, Sr. in 1877. This five bedroom, 5,500 square foot home sits on the bluffs of Muskegon Lake, just minutes from Lake Michigan sugar sand beaches and the downtown business district. Business and leisure travelers feel a real sense of home. Five bedrooms with private baths and views of the lake, three with double-whirlpool tubs. Enjoy the rooftop pergola and TV/VCR room with views of the lake. Two parlors filled with antiques and Victorian decor throughout the Inn. Remote control A/C, CATV, Fireplaces. Open year round. We are Barbara and Fred Schossau and after serving our guests for almost nineteen years, we not only believe that God brought us here to this beautiful home, but His provisions also included the gift of hospitality. Barbara and I thoroughly enjoy entertaining our guests and serving a wonderful hearty breakfast every morning. Our motto is, “Hospitality the Old Fashioned Way”, and our goal is, "Within reason, we will do whatever it takes to make our guests happy." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing