We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is an excellent restaurant and bar on the first floor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
1 review
“There is an excellent restaurant and bar on the first floor.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is one of the best hotels in the area. There is a restaurant on the first floor that has an excellent free breakfast buffet, real orange juice, has lunch, dinner, and a full bar.

There is a great bartender called Travis that can make one mean Margarita like the one one Wikipedia, not the watered down ones with the crappy sour mix in it. It is worth going to the Holiday Inn just to go to the bar every night and having a few drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason12345678901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    98
    78
    48
    34
See reviews for
130
65
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tawas City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This property does not meet the usual high standards of Holiday Inn. It is desperate need of a facelift! Room was dingy, lamps and curtains did not work and bathroom had black mold in shower. Front desk staff rude at checkin and checkout and not forthcoming with information regarding amenities such as coupon for free breakfast buffet which we only discovered when getting ready to checkout! I would not recommend this hotel. Stayed August 10-11, 2013.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear SusieQ0591,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I sincerely apologize for the room condition fell below your standards and for the lapse in service during your stay. This is definitely not up to our standards as we always strive to provide the best guest experience. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muskegon hotels

Gladstone, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed the Holiday Inn in Muskegon, and I'll tell everyone out there. The employees, managers and people there are Awesome! I actually felt like family! Travis, Derek, Jen, Deserie, Kia, Scott and all of the girls behind the desk, were totally awesome! If you need a great place with outstanding people and a great at home feeling, the Holiday Inn in Muskegon is the place to go. I truly made friends and enjoyed my stay. I will go back again and again just to visit with the friends I met. Thanks Travis especially for making me feel comfortable after I had an accident entering the under ground parking lot...lol Kia and Jen made sure I was eating proper :). And Derek for talking Detroit Lion's football. The girls at the front desk were extremely helpful and concerned about any problem one could have...It was the best experience I've ever had while staying at a Motel!! Thanks Again My Friends...;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Clean rooms, beds were comfortable, The only drawback was no vent in the bathrooms to turn on. Seemed a little pricey, stayed 2 nights. The breakfast and service was excellent. Check in went smoothly, parking was ok but not knowing when we parked a little lower levels we had to take stairways to get to elevators. Lugging bags and golf clubs was a little tough. Should've been told that the lower you park you will have to navigate stairwells before getting to elevators to go to your rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed the evening of August 15th and was awakened in the middle of the night (3:30AM) just like rbechill's review had noted earlier. And having been through a few fire drills in my time I knew the routine for getting the heck out of a hotel quickly and calmly. Along with many of the other gathered guests that stood outside I was shocked to see the lack of authority there. No police officers, no fire marshall, and barely anyone there to take charge of the situation- even when the all clear was given. I was hoping to see a badged employee at the top of their lungs re-assuring everyone that it had been a false alarm or maybe even a security guard offering some sort of comfort and understanding to being awakened in this manner. Afterwards many guest milled around the lobby clueless as to whether they could even use the elevators or not. Again, where was guest services to direct people back to their rooms?

The rooms themselves were fine in creature comforts and our room was neat as a pin so kudos goes out to housekeeping. Our only displeasure with the rooms themselves was the lack of sound proofing. Even though we were on the 7th floor, we could still hear street noise from the back parking lot!

We wanted a nice quiet restful night but were denied on several levels. The amenities were there but we just couldn't get the rest we craved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smogboy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Smogboy315,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding housekeeping.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and the lack of authorities during the fire drill We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I'm sure that management will comment below that they will address this issue but so far, three other people have had this same issue in the past 6 months on tripadvisor so management has NOT addressed ANY issues. At 3:30 am the fire alarm sounded. Evidently someone had pulled the fire alarm on the fifth floor and police were called and the person escorted out. I was outside during the time they said this and did not see one police car or fire truck. The first night we stayed was very pleasant. The second night is when everything fell apart with the fire alarms going off, staff having absolutely NO CLUE what was going on or what to do. Staff the next morning was very unhelpful as far as compensating all people who were woken up that night as they said it wasn't their fault....fine I get it. But, it wasn't my fault either. Steam room was broken both days. Was going to stay another night as the first night was great, but cancelled my third day as did many patrons of this hotel due to the lack of empathy and information regarding the nights events. Billing issues and lack of staff seem to be an abundant problem as well.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. The fire alarms were even going off after the night in question every five minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbechill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear rbechill,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking time to help us to continually improve our guests experience.

I apologize for the inconvenience the fire alarm has caused you and regret that this has negatively affected your stay with us. We regret that your experience with us was not ideal and sorry for the lapse in service during your stay.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and as we always strive to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service and comfort that they expect when staying at our hotel. One again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
362 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
49 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muskegon

Property: Holiday Inn Muskegon
Address: 939 3rd St, Muskegon, MI 49440-1136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Muskegon 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor!We are the only full service hotel in Muskegon, MI located within the revitalized downtown district the ideal location for both the business and leisure traveler.Perfect for the business traveler, we offer free wireless Internet throughout the hotel as well as in our guest rooms. Additional amenities include 24 hour business center, dry cleaning, free parking in our covered garage and a full fitness facility. We are conveniently located within a few miles of several area businesses. Priority Club Member? We offer PC point members complimentary breakfast Mon Fri.Looking for the perfect summer getaway? We are located within a few miles of the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches. Have some fun in the sun and return to the hotel for a relaxing experience in our indoor heated pool, saunas and whirlpool located within our state of the art Fitness Facility. Looking for additional entertainment? Located a few miles from the hotel is Michigan Adventure, Lake Express Ferry, Port City Princess, and several majestic Lake Michigan lighthouses. Walking distance you will find the Frauenthal Muskegon Theater, Christian Music Festival, Muskegon bike time, Muskegon Lumberjacks and Muskegon Summer Celebration .Join us Mon Fri at the Harbor Steakhouse from 4-7PM for our happy hour. Fri & Sat we offer live entertainment.An adventure awaits you at the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor, come visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing